By: Mabry H.R. No. 749

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Members of the McLennan Community College Student
Government Association are in Austin to host the Texas Junior
College Student Government State Convention, and it is a privilege
to welcome these exemplary student leaders to the State Capitol;
and

WHEREAS, Chartered more than 20 years ago, the Student Government Association is the oldest student organization at McLennan Community College; members of the association are elected by their peers and act as the liaison between the administration and the student body; and

WHEREAS, Members of the Student Government Association serve on committees, assist with campus events, attend leadership conferences, and volunteer in their community; current members include president Bill Mears, president-elect Chris Cochran, Gregory Johnson, Edwardo Moreno, Natasha Cotti, Holly Green, April Dotson, Laura Hodges, and Chris Pate; the association's advisors are Alesha Vardeman, Jim McKewen, and Ashley Cruseturner; and

WHEREAS, The McLennan Community College Student Government Association has received a number of impressive honors, including being named the Texas Junior College Student Government Association Region IV Chapter of the Year; in addition, Bill Mears has been recognized as Region IV Student of the Year for his initiative and dedication; and

24 WHEREAS, Honing leadership and communication skills is a

H.R. No. 749

- 1 valuable endeavor for individuals of any age, and these fine young
- 2 people have demonstrated excellence in this pursuit and may reflect
- 3 with pride on their involvement as campus leaders; now, therefore,
- 4 be it
- 5 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
- 6 Legislature hereby welcome the members of the McLennan Community
- 7 College Student Government Association to the Capitol and extend to
- 8 them best wishes for continued success and happiness; and, be it
- 9 further
- 10 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 11 prepared for the McLennan Community College Student Government
- 12 Association as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of
- 13 Representatives.