H.R. No. 764

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The tragic reentry explosion of the space shuttle Columbia on February 1, 2003, resulted in the scattering of debris in several of our state's lakes and reservoirs, including Lake Nacogdoches and the Sam Rayburn and Toledo Bend reservoirs, and members of the Galveston County Sheriff's Office Marine Unit have ably joined in the effort to find and recover wreckage from the disaster; and

WHEREAS, Using sonar screening equipment, these search and recovery specialists trolled Toledo Bend Reservoir to locate underwater debris; this already arduous task was made even more difficult by inclement weather, yet the marine unit persevered and has pursued its mission with the utmost professionalism; and

WHEREAS, Members of the marine unit who have provided assistance in this vital endeavor include Lieutenant Chuck Walsh, Sergeant Greg White, Sergeant Randy Burrows, Deputy Glenn Maddux, Deputy Don Gay, Jr., and Deputy Brent Walker; these fine peace officers have been supported in their endeavors by those residents of south Sabine County who have provided food and encouragement to search and recovery personnel throughout the challenging ordeal; and

WHEREAS, This monumental project has truly been a team effort that has required the resources of the Federal Emergency Management Agency, NASA, the Environmental Protection Agency, and the U.S. Navy, as well as Texas organizations such as the Galveston County

H.R. No. 764

- 1 Sheriff's Office Marine Unit; in times of national tragedy, we can
- 2 all be proud of the fact that the citizens of Texas are eager and
- 3 willing to do whatever is necessary to resolve a crisis; and
- WHEREAS, Under the direction of Sheriff Gean Leonard, the
- 5 Galveston County Sheriff's Office Marine Unit has earned the
- 6 admiration of a grateful citizenry for the pivotal work it has done
- 7 in bringing this sad tragedy to its conclusion; now, therefore, be
- 8 it
- 9 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
- 10 Legislature hereby commend the Galveston County Sheriff's Office
- 11 Marine Unit for its role in the search for and recovery of debris
- 12 from the space shuttle Columbia disaster and extend sincere best
- 13 wishes to those individuals who have participated in this important
- 14 undertaking; and, be it further
- 15 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 16 prepared for the Galveston County Sheriff's Office Marine Unit as
- 17 an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Eiland

H.R. No. 764

Craddick Geren Mercer Allen Giddings Merritt Alonzo Goodman Miller Bailey Goolsby Moreno of Harris Griggs Baxter Moreno of El Paso Berman Grusendorf Morrison Guillen Bohac Mowery Naishtat Bonnen Gutierrez Haggerty Branch Nixon Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Hamilton Noriega Hamric Oliveira Hardcastle Olivo Burnam Harper-Brown Callegari Paxton Campbell Hartnett Pena Heflin Canales Phillips Hegar Pickett Capelo Hilderbran Pitts Casteel Castro Hill Puente Hochberg Quintanilla Chavez Chisum Hodge Raymond Christian Homer Reyna Riddle Coleman Норе Cook of Navarro Hopson Ritter Cook of Colorado Howard Rodriguez Corte Hughes Rose Crabb Hunter Seaman Crownover Smith of Tarrant Hupp Davis of Harris Smith of Harris Isett Jones of Lubbock Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Davis of Dallas Smithee Dawson Solis Delisi Solomons Keel Stick Denny Deshotel Keffer of Dallas Swinford Keffer of Eastland Driver Talton Dukes King Taylor Kolkhorst Dunnam Telford Dutton Krusee Thompson Edwards Kuempel Truitt Laney Eiland Turner Eissler Laubenberg Uresti Elkins Lewis Van Arsdale Ellis Luna Villarreal Escobar Mabry West Wilson Farabee Madden Farrar Marchant Wise Martinez Fischer Wohlgemuth Flores McCall Wolens Flynn McClendon Gallego Wong Woolley Garza McReynolds Gattis Menendez Zedler

TT	_	7. T	\neg \sim \sim
Н	-	$N \cap$	764

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 764 was adopted by the House on May 21, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House