H.R. No. 767

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Westlake High School Lady Chaparrals captured 2 the 2002 Class 5A State Volleyball Championship, reaching the

pinnacle of success in high school athletics with a 15-11, 15-6

4 defeat of Houston's Stratford High School Spartans; and

3

6

8

11

12

13

18

5 WHEREAS, The team completed the season with a remarkable 38-5

record that included winning the Silver Division of the Duncanville

7 Tournament of Champions, claiming first place in the New Braunfels

Volleyfest, finishing second in the Pearland Invitational

9 Tournament, and going undefeated in division play; and

10 WHEREAS, Led by head coach Al Bennett and assistant coaches

Lynne Bryant, Kari Collins, and Stacie Jo VanDonge, the Lady Chaps

demonstrated excellence on and off the court, overcoming a

perceived lack of experience with exceptional athleticism and a

14 commitment to teamwork and fundamentals; and

WHEREAS, Team members include state tournament MVP Lindsey

16 Louis, all-tournament players Meghan Kainz and Shannon Davis,

17 seniors Meredith Hasson and Erin Miles, juniors Chrissy Broaddus,

Lindsey Spurck, Cassie Teykl, and Ashley Teykl, and sophomores

19 Steffi Kons, Tedi Doucet, Jamie Weidemann, Kelsey Wood, Jen Linder,

20 Kelsey Bryant, Melissa Young, and Lauren Thomas; and

21 WHEREAS, Winning a state championship is the dream of every

22 high school athlete, and the coaches and players of the Westlake

23 High School Lady Chaparrals volleyball team have made that dream a

24 reality; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 767

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
Legislature hereby congratulate coach Al Bennett and the members of
the Westlake High School Lady Chaparrals on winning the Class 5A
State Volleyball Championship and extend best wishes to the many
individuals who contributed to the team's success; and, be it
further
RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Baxter

| TT | _ | 7. T | 7 (7 |
|-----------|---|------|-------|
| Н | - | NO | 161 |
| | | | |

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 767 was adopted by the House on April 23, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House