H.R. No. 768

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Jody Conradt and The University of Texas at Austin 2 women's basketball team have completed an outstanding season filled 3 with inspiring individual accomplishments and stellar team 4 success; and

5 WHEREAS, In a season that saw Coach Conradt capture her 800th 6 career coaching victory, the Longhorns enjoyed a 17-game winning 7 streak, won their first Big 12 Conference championship, and 8 advanced to the NCAA Final Four; and

9 WHEREAS, The Longhorns finished the season with a 29-6 record 10 that included a superlative 63-62 win over perennial powerhouse 11 Tennessee and three victories over arch-rival Texas Tech as well as 12 a dominating 78-60 win against number-one seed Louisiana State 13 University in the West Regional final of the NCAA Tournament; and

WHEREAS, Led by Coach Conradt, associate head coach Karen Aston, and assistant coaches Fred Applin and Kathy Harston, the Longhorns returned to the Final Four for the first time since 1987, and this dynamic young team is undoubtedly poised for continued success in the seasons ahead; and

WHEREAS, Team members include Tamra Cobbins, Jody Bell, Kala Bowers, Alisha Sare, Jamie Carey, Tai Dillard, Stephanie Thiel, Janna Jesperson, Heather Schreiber, Nina Norman, Coco Reed, BranDee Fry, All-American Stacy Stephens, Annissa Hastings, and Mercedes Williams; and

24

WHEREAS, The Longhorns excelled in their efforts this year by

1

1 dedicating themselves to a team-oriented approach and tenacious 2 defense, and with their fine season complete it is indeed 3 appropriate to honor the coaches, players, and all those who 4 contributed to the team's success; now, therefore, be it

5 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas 6 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the Longhorns women's basketball 7 team for their superb 2002-2003 season and extend best wishes to the 8 team members for continued excellence and achievement in all their 9 endeavors; and, be it further

10 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 11 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas 12 House of Representatives.

Naishtat

H.R. No. 768

2

H.R. No. 768

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 768 was adopted by the House on May 2, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House