H.R. No. 769

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The University of Texas men's basketball team has 2 completed a sensational and memorable season that included the 3 team's first trip to the Final Four in more than 50 years; and

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

WHEREAS, Guided by head coach Rick Barnes, the Longhorns finished their season with a 26-7 record that included a perfect 14-0 mark on their home court and earned the team its first-ever NCAA Tournament number-one seed; the season also featured two wins over conference rival Oklahoma as well as a strong run in the NCAA Tournament that ended with a hard-fought loss to eventual national champion Syracuse University; and

WHEREAS, This young and energetic Longhorns team was led by sophomore point guard T. J. Ford, the 2003 Naismith Player of the Year; the team also included seniors Deginald Erskin, Terrell Ross, and Chris Ogden, juniors James Thomas, Brandon Mouton, Royal Ivey, Drew Gressett, and Brian Boddicker, sophomores Sydmill Harris and Jason Klotz, and freshmen Kenton Paulino, Brad Buckman, and Chris Wright; and

WHEREAS, With help from assistant coaches Frank Haith, Rodney Terry, and Russell Springmann, Coach Barnes has crafted a solid and successful team that is fast earning the university recognition as one of the nation's elite basketball programs; his players have earned the respect of fans for their efforts both on and off the hardwood, and the team will undoubtedly build on its success as it

returns to the national title hunt next season; now, therefore, be

H.R. No. 769

1 it

9

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas

Legislature hereby pay tribute to Coach Rick Barnes and the Texas

Longhorns men's basketball team on their outstanding 2002-2003

season and extend best wishes for continued success to the many individuals associated with the team; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for the team and coaches as an expression of high regard by

the Texas House of Representatives.

Naishtat

тт	D	NT o	769
Н	R	NO	169

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 769 was adopted by the House on May 2, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House