By: Hilderbran H.R. No. 772

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Greg Shrader of Kerrville received the 2002 Mayborn 2 Award for Community Leadership in recognition of his valuable 3 contributions as a businessman and volunteer; and

WHEREAS, Established by Anyse Sue Mayborn, widow of newspaper publisher and philanthropist Frank W. Mayborn, this prestigious award is presented each year to a publisher or newspaper executive whose leadership has improved community life and the newspaper profession; as the 2002 recipient of the Mayborn Award, Mr. Shrader will have the opportunity to designate a Texas college or university to receive a \$3,000 scholarship to be awarded to an outstanding senior journalism student; and

WHEREAS, In his position as editor and publisher of the Kerrville Daily Times for the past eight years, Mr. Shrader has played a key role in the life of the Kerrville and Kerr County citizenry; he began his notable career in the newspaper business at the Houston Chronicle in 1974 and was a member of the management teams of the Bryan-College Station Eagle, the Abilene Reporter-News, and the Galveston County Daily News; and

WHEREAS, He is an alumnus of The University of Texas at
Austin, where he received a bachelor's degree in advertising and a
master's degree in journalism; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Shrader enthusiastically shares his energy and resources for the good of Kerr County; in addition to working to promote literacy, he has contributed his time and talents in

H.R. No. 772

- 1 support of many worthy organizations, including the Hill Country
- 2 College Fund, Schreiner University, the Kerrville Area Chamber of
- 3 Commerce, the Salvation Army, Kerr County United Way, and the Kerr
- 4 Economic Development Corporation, and he is an active member of
- 5 First United Methodist Church; and
- WHEREAS, Mr. Shrader's commitment to his profession, his
- 7 community, and his loved ones has enriched the lives of countless
- 8 people, and it is indeed appropriate that he receive special
- 9 recognition at this time; now, therefore, be it
- 10 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
- 11 Legislature hereby congratulate Greg Shrader on being named the
- 12 recipient of the 2002 Mayborn Award for Community Leadership and
- 13 extend to him best wishes for success and happiness in his future
- 14 endeavors; and, be it further
- 15 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 16 prepared for Mr. Shrader as an expression of high regard by the
- 17 Texas House of Representatives.