By: Pena

H.R. No. 773

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Premedical Honors College at The University of 2 Texas-Pan American (UTPA) is a joint effort between UTPA and Baylor 3 College of Medicine that was established in 1993 as part of a 4 Hispanic Centers of Excellence initiative designed to recruit 5 talented Hispanic students to medicine and to promote diversity in 6 the field; and

7 WHEREAS, Students who are accepted into the program receive a 8 four-year scholarship to study at UTPA; they complete a rigorous 9 premedical curriculum and take part in specialized counseling and 10 enrichment experiences; participants who have earned an acceptable 11 grade point average and a minimum score on the Medical College 12 Admissions Test are then granted an additional scholarship to cover 13 four years of medical training at Baylor College of Medicine; and

14 WHEREAS, Among the Texas youth currently enrolled in the program are outstanding students from the Rio Grande Valley, 15 including Christopher Brann, Amanda Garza, Carla Sagredo, Dalia 16 Galicia, Lyssa Ochoa, and Melissa Ochoa of Mission; Omar Rodriguez, 17 Andres Splenser, and Andreana Rivera of McAllen; Kristofer Galvan, 18 Elias George, and Noe Olivera of Harlingen; David Jimenez of Donna; 19 Jose Lares of San Benito; Charles Zaremba and Michael Gorena of 20 21 Edinburg; Maria Luna of Pharr; and Grace Jackson-Cortez of 22 Mercedes; and

23 WHEREAS, These young men and women are working to build a 24 brighter future for themselves, their families, and the people of

1

H.R. No. 773

the Lone Star State, and it is most appropriate that they be honored for their dedication and commitment to excellence; now, therefore, be it

4 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
5 Legislature hereby recognize all those associated with the
6 Premedical Honors College at UTPA and extend to them sincere best
7 wishes for success in all of their future endeavors; and, be it
8 further

9 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 10 prepared for these students as an expression of high regard by the 11 Texas House of Representatives.

2