By: Jones of Bexar

H.R. No. 782

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Texans owe a debt of gratitude to the National 2 Society of the Colonial Dames of America in the State of Texas for 3 the group's successful efforts to have the bluebonnet named the 4 official State Flower of Texas; and

WHEREAS, Founded in February 1898, under the leadership of 5 its first president, Mrs. Samuel M. Welch, the Texas society 6 promoted the bluebonnet as the state flower to the legislature in 7 1901; many members were unfamiliar with the bluebonnet and some put 8 forth other suggestions for this special honor, including John 9 Nance Garner, who made a motion for the cactus bloom, and Phil H. 10 11 Clements, who aggressively supported the open cotton boll, which he 12 termed "the white rose of commerce"; and

13 WHEREAS, Enlisting the help of Representative John M. Green 14 of Cuero, who eloquently appealed for the bluebonnet, the Texas society spotlighted the wildflower's natural beauty by placing 15 bouquets on members' desks; ultimately, they won by acclamation 16 after displaying a painting of an arrangement of primroses and 17 bluebonnets by Miss Mode Walker; this lovely still life today hangs 18 in the Neill-Cochran House in Austin, which serves as the Texas 19 20 society's headquarters; and

21 WHEREAS, For more than a century, the National Society of the 22 Colonial Dames of America in the State of Texas has enriched the 23 quality of life in the Lone Star State through its dedication to 24 preserving history and promoting patriotism, and it is a pleasure

1

H.R. No. 782

to salute this fine organization at this time; now, therefore, be it
RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
Legislature hereby honor the National Society of the Colonial Dames
of America in the State of Texas for its contribution to making the
bluebonnet the official State Flower of Texas; and, be it further
RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for the Texas society as an expression of continuing

8 thanks by the Texas House of Representatives.