H.R. No. 813

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The year 2003 marks the 30th anniversary of the
Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center at El Paso, and this
milestone provides a fitting opportunity to honor one of the
individuals who has helped to make this facility the renowned
institution it is today; and

WHEREAS, David Porras, who currently serves as the center's managing director of administrative services, has for decades been a committed and accomplished member of the Lone Star State's medical community; after beginning his career at Thomason Hospital, where he worked as a supply technician and business manager, he acquired experience in the private sector before joining the staff at Texas Tech in 1978 as assistant business manager of the Medical Surgical Research and Development Plan; and

WHEREAS, Two years later, this distinguished Texan became the first director of the Medical Practice Income Plan, and today serves not only as director of administrative services but also as the administrator of the division of ophthalmology and the HIPAA privacy compliance officer for the El Paso campus; and

WHEREAS, Through his exemplary contributions to the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center, David Porras has helped to establish Texas Tech El Paso as a valuable resource for health care education and delivery for the citizens of West Texas, and his unwavering devotion to the well-being of his fellow Texans will not soon be forgotten; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 813

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas

Legislature hereby commend David Porras, whose outstanding service
in behalf of the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center has
ensured a brighter future for countless people; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for Mr. Porras as an expression of high regard by the Texas

House of Representatives.

Chavez

H.R. No. 813

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 813 was adopted by the House on May  $10,\,2003,\,\mathrm{by}$  a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House