H.R. No. 824

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The year 2003 marks the 30th anniversary of the 2 Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center at El Paso, and this 3 milestone provides a fitting opportunity to honor one of the 4 individuals who has helped to make this facility the renowned 5 institution it is today; and

WHEREAS, In 1973 Maria Elena A. Flood was the first person 6 employed to develop the School of Medicine Regional Campus in El 7 Paso; until her retirement in 1995, she ably performed the duties of 8 a variety of administrative positions in the Regional Academic 9 Health Center, including administrator for academic affairs, 10 11 director of operations, director of the Office of Border Health, 12 and project director of the Texas Tech Area Health Education Center 13 Program; and

14 WHEREAS, This esteemed individual also served as an assistant 15 professor of health organization management in the School of 16 Medicine and in 1985 she was deservedly inducted into the Texas 17 Women's Hall of Fame for her accomplishments in the field of 18 education in Texas; and

WHEREAS, Through her exemplary contributions to the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center, Maria Elena A. Flood has helped to establish Texas Tech El Paso as a valuable resource for health care education and delivery for the citizens of West Texas, and her unwavering devotion to the well-being of her fellow Texans will not soon be forgotten; now, therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 824

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas 2 Legislature hereby commend Maria Elena A. Flood, whose outstanding 3 service in behalf of the Texas Tech University Health Sciences 4 Center has ensured a brighter future for countless people; and, be 5 it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for Mrs. Flood as an expression of high regard by the Texas 8 House of Representatives.

Chavez

H.R. No. 824

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 824 was adopted by the House on May 10, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House