H.R. No. 828

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Oak Cliff Tribune, an integral part of the Oak Cliff community, will be honored on May 13, 2003, when the Dallas Baptist University-Oak Cliff Partnership presents the newspaper with the 2003 Good Samaritan award; and WHEREAS, Dallas city councilman Mark Housewright currently serves as the publisher of this media institution, which can trace its origins back 100 years to at least two newspapers, the Tribune, founded in 1903, and the Oak Cliff Eagle, founded in 1908; and WHEREAS, Over the course of its long and storied history, the

Oak Cliff Tribune has weathered economic downturns, circulation wars, and a devastating office fire to become a positive and active voice for the community and a force for progress and civic pride, for which Councilman Housewright and his staff deserve high praise; and

WHEREAS, The Oak Cliff Tribune is at the center of Oak Cliff's economic and cultural development, fulfilling the mission articulated by its managing editor, Kathie Magers, of printing news of interest to the citizens of Oak Cliff and of the nearby inner-city areas of Dallas; in doing so, it is truly making the greater Oak Cliff community a better place in which to live, work, own a business, and raise a family; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas Legislature hereby commend the publisher and employees of the Oak Cliff Tribune on their receipt of the 2003 Good Samaritan award from

H.R. No. 828

- 1 the Dallas Baptist University-Oak Cliff Partnership and
- 2 congratulate them on the newspaper's rich and fascinating history;
- 3 and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for the *Tribune* as an expression of high regard by the
- 6 Texas House of Representatives.

Davis of Dallas

H.R. No. 828

Craddick Giddings Merritt Allen Miller Goodman Moreno of Harris Goolsby Alonzo Bailey Moreno of El Paso Griggs Baxter Grusendorf Morrison Berman Guillen Mowery Gutierrez Naishtat Bohac Bonnen Haggerty Nixon Noriega Hamilton Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Hamric Oliveira Hardcastle Olivo Burnam Harper-Brown Paxton Callegari Hartnett Pena Campbell Heflin Phillips Canales Hegar Pickett Hiĺderbran Pitts Capelo Casteel Hill Puente Castro Hochberg Quintanilla Hodge Chavez Raymond Chisum Homer Reyna Riddle Christian Норе Coleman Hopson Ritter Cook of Navarro Howard Rodriguez Cook of Colorado Hughes Rose Corte Hunter Seaman Smith of Tarrant Crabb Hupp Crownover Isett Smith of Harris Jones of Lubbock Davis of Harris Smithee Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Davis of Dallas Solis Dawson Solomons Stick Delisi Keel Keffer of Dallas Swinford Denny Deshotel Keffer of Eastland Talton King Driver Taylor Dukes Kolkhorst Telford Thompson Dunnam Krusee Dutton Kuempel Truitt Edwards Turner Laney Eiland Laubenberg Uresti Eissler Lewis Van Arsdale Elkins Luna Villarreal Ellis Mabry West Farabee Madden Wilson Farrar Marchant Wise Martinez Fischer Wohlgemuth Flores Flynn McCall Wolens Gallego McClendon Wong McReynolds Woolley Garza Gattis Menendez Zedler

Mercer

Geren

	_	3.7	828
ш	ט	$N \cap$	0,0

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 828 was adopted by the House on April 28, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House