H.R. No. 837

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Residents of Austin lost a beloved neighbor and
 friend with the passing of Dwight Dean Christopher on September 17,
 2001, at the age of 52; and

WHEREAS, A native Texan, Mr. Christopher was born in
Jacksonville on June 4, 1949, to Jessie and Lottie Bowens
Christopher; after graduating from Frederick Douglass High School,
he went on to attend Bishop College in Dallas; and

8 WHEREAS, This esteemed gentleman worked for the Texas 9 Department of Agriculture for two years before accepting a position 10 as a legislative specialist with the Texas Comptroller of Public 11 Accounts; during his 13 years with the state, he served the people 12 of Texas with commendable dedication and won the respect and 13 admiration of his coworkers; and

14 WHEREAS, Mr. Christopher was active with the deacon board and 15 marriage ministry at Mt. Sinai Missionary Baptist Church and was a 16 member of the NAACP, the Austin Area Urban League, and Masonic Lodge 17 No. 357; and

18 WHEREAS, Dwight Christopher was a man of integrity and faith, 19 and while he is greatly missed, his memory lives on in the hearts 20 and minds of the many people whose lives he touched; now, therefore, 21 be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of Dwight Dean Christopher and extend sympathy to the members of his family: to his

1

H.R. No. 837

cherished wife of more than 30 years, Barbara; to his children and 1 2 their spouses, Katrina Anderson and her husband, Michael, Jeffery 3 Christopher and his wife, Jaclynn, and Derrick Christopher; to his 4 grandchildren, Brandon Anderson and Joshua Christopher; to his father, Jessie Christopher; to his brothers and sisters-in-law, 5 6 Willie Christopher and his wife, Verline, Arthur Christopher and his wife, Melba, Melvin Christopher, and Helen Jefferson; and to 7 8 his many other relatives and special friends; and, be it further RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 9

10 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of 11 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Dwight Dean 12 Christopher.

Dutton

Craddick Allen Alonzo Bailey Baxter Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Campbell Canales Capelo Casteel Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Crownover Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Dawson Delisi Denny Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins Ellis Farabee Farrar Flores Flynn Gallego Garza Gattis Geren

Giddings Goodman Goolsby Griggs Grusendorf Guillen Gutierrez Haggerty Hamilton Hamric Hardcastle Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hegar Hiĺderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Норе Hopson Howard Hughes Hunter Hupp Isett Jones of Lubbock Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Keel Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Laney Laubenberg Lewis Luna Mabry Madden Marchant Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez Mercer

Merritt Miller Moreno of Harris Moreno of El Paso Morrison Mowery Naishtat Nixon Noriega Oliveira Olivo Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Reyna Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solis Solomons Stick Swinford Talton Taylor Telford Thompson Truitt Turner Uresti Van Arsdale Villarreal West Wilson Wise Wohlgemuth Wolens Wong Woolley Zedler

H.R. No. 837

H.R. No. 837

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 837 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on April 28, 2003.

Chief Clerk of the House