H.R. No. 844

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Students from across the Lone Star State have been selected as recipients of the Longhorn Opportunity Scholarships and President's Achievement Scholarships from The University of Texas at Austin, and it is a privilege to pay tribute to these outstanding scholars at this time; and

WHEREAS, The Longhorn Opportunity Scholarships and the President's Achievement Scholarships were created to recognize young Texans who have an impressive record of achievement in high school; by providing financial assistance to these future leaders, UT-Austin is encouraging their participation in higher education; and

WHEREAS, Recipients of the Longhorn Opportunity Scholarship, who will get \$5,000 a year for four years, are Laquita Johnson, Andrew Lara, and Nancy Soto; the alternate for the Longhorn Opportunity Scholarship, Antonio Hernandez, will receive \$1,000; and

WHEREAS, The President's Achievement Scholarship Tier I, which provides \$5,000 a year for four years, has been awarded to Diana Melendez; the President's Achievement Scholarship Tier II gives students \$2,500 a year for four years, and recipients of that award are Brenda Bagues, Melissa Chaparro, Elizabeth Delgado, Rene Encina, Janette Flores, Brenda Jimenez, Omar Nava, Lenin Navar, Hector Navarro, Ruth Navarro, Daisy Reyes, Vicente Rivera, Sendy Sosa, Ruben Urias, and Evelyn Zuniga; receiving a President's

H.R. No. 844

- 1 Achievement Scholarship Tier III for \$1,000 is Jenny Logan; and
- 2 WHEREAS, Through their outstanding commitment and hard work,
- 3 these college-bound students have demonstrated the drive and
- 4 maturity necessary to excel in academia, and this enthusiasm for
- 5 learning will no doubt translate into success at UT-Austin and in
- 6 their careers upon graduation; now, therefore, be it
- 7 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
- 8 Legislature hereby congratulate the recipients of the Longhorn
- 9 Opportunity Scholarships and the President's Achievement
- 10 Scholarships and extend to each of them best wishes for a future
- 11 filled with success and happiness.

Quintanilla

TT	_	7. T	844
Н	ט	NΩ	Q / I / I

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 844 was adopted by the House on April 22, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House