By: Mercer H.R. No. 860

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The University of Texas at San Antonio (UTSA)

2 women's basketball team resoundingly defeated the Southeastern

Louisiana University Lady Lions 49-38 to claim its first Southland

4 Conference regular season championship; and

5 WHEREAS, Head coach Rae Rippetoe-Blair schooled her charges

in hardwood fundamentals and inspired them to perform at the

highest level, and she was ably supported in her efforts by

8 assistant coaches Marianne Sevin, Lubomyr Lichonczak, and Amber

9 Prose; and

3

6

7

11

12

13

17

10 WHEREAS, This season's outstanding accomplishments were the

result of a total team effort by players Tijwana Collins, Tiffany

Coleman, Lyndsey Greer, Nikki Hendrix, Dewella Holliday, Tanisha

Jackson, Beth Layton, Jacque Maddox, Lacy Mingee, Julie Rampley,

14 Kim Reed, Katie Sandefur, and Holly Ziegler; and

WHEREAS, These exemplary athletes are a source of tremendous

16 pride to the students and faculty of UTSA as well as to their many

supporters in the community, for they have exemplified the

18 character and determination of true champions; now, therefore, be

19 it

20 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas

21 Legislature hereby congratulate The University of Texas at San

22 Antonio women's basketball team for winning the 2003 Southland

23 Conference regular season championship and extend to the team

24 members best wishes for success in the future; and, be it further

H.R. No. 860

- 1 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 2 prepared for the team members and coaching staff as an expression of
- 3 high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.