H.R. No. 863

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Red Oak High School boys' soccer team has captured the UIL Class 4A State Championship, bringing the team its first-ever state title; and

WHEREAS, The state champion Hawks completed their season with an outstanding 21-5-1 record that included a remarkable and memorable three-week playoff run that culminated with a thrilling 2-0 victory over San Antonio's Alamo Heights High School; and

WHEREAS, Head coach Austin Guest schooled his players in the fundamentals of soccer and emphasized the importance of teamwork and sportsmanship throughout the season; he was aided in his efforts by assistant coach Brent Stapleton, team manager Ben Manna, and trainers Molly Carr and Savannah Saum; and

WHEREAS, Team members include Chris Lamm, Marc Tremmel, Kenneth Kelley, Christian Shannon, Matt Esparza, Matt Yordy, Jackie Burns, Justin Stanford, Cody Crouch, Aaron Godwin, Daniel Lopez, Robert Davis, Brad Hunter, Sean Smock, Paul Sivinski, Ben Hadaway, Brad Maddalozzo, Tyler Corie, David Tennent, Tyler Mercer, Ralph Barrera, Eric Schupmann, Josh Cook, and Justin Tulley; and

WHEREAS, The students, faculty, and staff of Red Oak High School are justifiably proud of the accomplishments of the boys' soccer team; the dedication and perseverance demonstrated by these fine young athletes has been truly inspirational, and it is indeed a privilege to honor them at this time; now, therefore, be it

24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas

H.R. No. 863

- 1 Legislature hereby congratulate the Red Oak High School boys'
- 2 soccer team on winning the UIL Class 4A State Championship and
- 3 extend to the coaches and players sincere best wishes for continued
- 4 success and good fortune; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 7 House of Representatives.

Pitts

H.R. No. 863

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 863 was adopted by the House on May 28, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House