H.R. No. 866

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, McKinney's Burks Elementary School has been ranked 1 2 by the Austin-based nonprofit organization Just for the Kids as one 3 of the Dallas-Fort Worth area's outstanding elementary schools; and WHEREAS, Selection criteria used to rank the schools included 4 5 district income level, percentage of students with limited English 6 proficiency, and student performance on the Texas Assessment of 7 Academic Skills (TAAS); and

WHEREAS, More than 590 public elementary schools from the Dallas-Fort Worth area were compared with the top 10 Texas schools with similar demographics; the schools were then ranked based on their "opportunity gap," a unique measure that demonstrates how well a school performs in relation to its peers; and

WHEREAS, Burks Elementary School ranked number 16 in the "middle income" tier; the students, faculty, and staff at this school have worked diligently to improve their school's performance from year to year, and the results of their efforts are readily apparent; and

WHEREAS, By recognizing and quantifying the particular socioeconomic challenges faced by schools in the Dallas-Fort Worth area, the Just for the Kids study highlights the progress and accomplishments of schools in comparison with their true peers, and area residents can take pride in these encouraging results; now,

23 therefore, be it

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

24

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas

H.R. No. 866

- 1 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the students, faculty, and staff
- 2 of McKinney's Burks Elementary School and commend the many
- 3 individuals associated with this fine school for their commitment
- 4 to excellence in education; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for Burks Elementary School as an expression of high
- 7 regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Paxton

U	D	$N \cap$	266

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 866 was adopted by the House on May 2, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House