H.R. No. 910

By: Crownover

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Four University of North Texas (UNT) students have 2 been awarded 2003 Barry M. Goldwater Scholarships, and it is 3 appropriate to honor them at this time for their academic 4 excellence; and

5 WHEREAS, The prestigious Barry M. Goldwater Scholarships 6 recognize 300 exceptional students nationwide who are planning 7 careers in mathematics, science, and engineering; selected based on 8 their scientific research, grade point average, and other 9 achievements, these students will receive financial assistance to 10 defray future education costs; and

11 WHEREAS, For the third year in a row, UNT has more Barry M. 12 Goldwater Scholarship winners than any other Texas college or 13 university; furthermore, it is one of only two universities 14 nationwide to have the maximum number of recipients three years in a 15 row; and

16 WHEREAS, This year's UNT Goldwater scholars are Daniel Birt 17 of Corpus Christi, Shinjita Das of Fort Worth, Andrew Liu of 18 Highland Village, and Andrea Runyan of Fort Worth; they are all 19 members of the Texas Academy of Mathematics and Science, a two-year 20 residential program at UNT that allows talented students to 21 simultaneously earn their high school diplomas and complete their 22 first two years of college; and

23 WHEREAS, Demonstrating exceptional intelligence, 24 initiative, and maturity in successfully pursuing their

1

H.R. No. 910

educational goals, these students are among a select group of individuals to receive this honor, and their remarkable accomplishments place them at the forefront of academic excellence in the nation; now, therefore, be it

5 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas 6 Legislature hereby congratulate Daniel Birt, Shinjita Das, Andrew 7 Liu, and Andrea Runyan for receiving 2003 Barry M. Goldwater 8 Scholarships and extend to them best wishes for future success and 9 happiness; and, be it further

10 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 11 prepared for each of these exceptional students as an expression of 12 high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

2