By: Pickett

H.R. No. 930

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, In 1966, Texas Western College, now The University 2 of Texas at El Paso, faced the No. 1 ranked University of Kentucky 3 men's basketball team in the National Collegiate Athletic 4 Association (NCAA) national championship game; and

5 WHEREAS, The University of Texas at El Paso Miners made NCAA 6 history as the first college team to start an all African American 7 lineup, starting five in the national championship game against the 8 University of Kentucky Wildcats; and

9 WHEREAS, The University of Texas at El Paso, which was 10 overlooked in preseason ratings, became the collegiate basketball 11 champion for the first time by defeating longtime powerhouse 12 Kentucky; and

WHEREAS, The Texas Western players' rebounding strength and fine shooting kept them ahead from after 9 minutes, 40 seconds, of the first half until the end of the game, when the Miners defeated the Wildcats 72-65; and

WHEREAS, This win made Coach Don Haskins, a.k.a. "The Bear," a coaching legend and changed the face of college basketball forever, ultimately leading to his induction into the Basketball Hall of Fame in 1997; and

21 WHEREAS, To this day, The University of Texas at El Paso 22 remains the only school in the Lone Star State to win a Division I 23 national championship in men's basketball; and

24

WHEREAS, The 37th anniversary of this landmark event provides

1

H.R. No. 930

1	an ideal opportunity to honor the exceptional achievements of these
2	remarkable student-athletes and their coach; now, therefore, be it
3	RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
4	Legislature hereby recognize April 28, 2003, as The University of
5	Texas at El Paso 1966 NCAA Basketball Champions Day.