H.R. No. 932

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Oscar Soliz, district clerk of Nueces County for 32 years, retired from that post at the end of 2002, having won enormous esteem for his public and professional service; and

WHEREAS, Over the course of his career, his superb leadership and expertise garnered Mr. Soliz numerous prestigious appointments, such as his assignment to the Criminal Justice Council by Governor Preston Smith; he has served as a representative of Texas district clerks on numerous important task forces, including one concerning the enforcement of child support payments and another dealing with information and technology issues in conjunction with the Texas Commission on Judicial Efficiency; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Soliz has made numerous contributions to his region and his colleagues in public service through his work as chairman of the Coastal Bend Council of Governments and president of the National Association of County Recorders and Clerks, National Association of Regional Councils, and National Association of Hispanic County Officials; the longest-serving board member of the National Association of County Officials, he has also served for 26 years as a board member for the Texas Association of Counties and for 28 years as a board member for the Texas Association of Regional Councils of Government; and

WHEREAS, His sterling record of achievement has earned him repeated recognition; among the honors bestowed on him have been

H.R. No. 932

- 1 his selection as Outstanding Clerk of the United States by the
- 2 National Association of Recorders and Clerks and Outstanding
- 3 District Clerk of the State of Texas by the County and District
- 4 Clerks' Association of Texas; he further holds the titles of board
- 5 member emeritus for the Texas Association of Counties and the
- 6 National Association of County Officials, as well as district clerk
- 7 emeritus for Nueces County; and
- 8 WHEREAS, In addition to his successful career, Mr. Soliz has
- 9 maintained an active role in his community; he has held leadership
- 10 positions in the Boy Scouts of America, the National Conference of
- 11 Christians and Jews, and the United Way of the Coastal Bend; a
- 12 member of Rotary International, he has held the post of grand knight
- of the Knights of Columbus Council 1202 and the presidency of the
- 14 Camp Fire USA Council of Corpus Christi; moreover, he currently
- 15 serves on the Democratic National Committee; and
- WHEREAS, A consummate professional, Oscar Soliz has rendered
- 17 long and distinguished service to the people of Nueces County and to
- 18 his colleagues across the country, and it is indeed a pleasure to
- 19 commend him at this time; now, therefore, be it
- 20 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
- 21 Legislature hereby honor Oscar Soliz for his outstanding work in
- 22 behalf of his state and county and extend to him warmest best wishes
- 23 for continued happiness and success; and, be it further
- 24 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 25 prepared for Mr. Soliz as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 26 House of Representatives.

Luna Seaman Capelo

H.R. No. 932

Craddick Giddings Merritt Allen Goodman Miller Alonzo Goolsby Moreno of Harris Moreno of El Paso Bailey Griggs Grusendorf Baxter Morrison Mowery Berman Guillen Gutierrez Naishtat Bohac Bonnen Haggerty Nixon Branch Hamilton Noriega Brown of Kaufman Hamric Oliveira Brown of Brazos Hardcastle Olivo Burnam Harper-Brown Paxton Hartnett Heflin Callegari Pena Campbell Phillips Canales Hegar Pickett Hilderbran Capelo Pitts Casteel Hill Puente Castro Hochberg Quintanilla Chavez Hodge Raymond Chisum Homer Reyna Christian Норе Riddle Coleman Hopson Ritter Cook of Navarro Howard Rodriguez Cook of Colorado Hughes Rose Corte Hunter Seaman Smith of Tarrant Crabb Hupp Crownover Isett Smith of Harris Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Jones of Lubbock Jones of Bexar Smithee Solis Jones of Dallas Dawson Solomons Delisi Keel Stick Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland Denny Swinford Deshotel Talton King Driver Taylor Dukes Kolkhorst Telford Krusee Thompson Dunnam Dutton Kuempel Truitt Edwards Laney Turner Eiland Laubenberg Uresti Eissler Lewis Van Arsdale Villarreal Elkins Luna Ellis Mabry West Madden Wilson Farabee Farrar Marchant Wise Martinez Fischer Wohlgemuth Flores Wolens McCall Flynn Gallego Wong McClendon Garza McReynolds Woolley Gattis Menendez Zedler Geren Mercer

TT T	1 T -	033
H	NO	$\mathbf{G} \times \mathbf{J}$

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 932 was adopted by the House on April 28, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House