## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The House of Representatives of the State of Texas
takes pleasure in joining citizens across the state in
congratulating Russell Don "Red" Steagall on his induction into the
National Cowboy & Western Heritage Museum's prestigious Hall of
Great Westerners; and

WHEREAS, Red Steagall was honored at the museum's 42nd Western Heritage Awards ceremonies on April 12, 2003; through his induction into the Hall of Great Westerners, he will join other writers, poets, explorers, Native American leaders, and statesmen who represent the heart and spirit of America's western heritage; and

WHEREAS, Red also received the 2002 Wrangler Award for his album, Wagon Tracks; it is the fifth Wrangler Award he has received for original songs and traditional western albums; and

WHEREAS, Red grew up in the Texas Panhandle and earned a degree in animal science from West Texas State University, which has served him well in his quarter horse operation on his ranch west of Fort Worth; and

WHEREAS, While in college, Red formed a band and started playing at rodeo dances on the weekends; he eventually formed a publishing company with Jimmy Bowen; he moved to Hollywood in the 1960s, and he and Don Lanier penned the song "Here We Go Again," which was recorded by Ray Charles; Red regards the recording of that song as the turning point in his professional career; and

- WHEREAS, In 1970, Red recorded "Party Dolls and Wine," the first of his many hits; he takes pride in proclaiming his songs are lyric oriented and that they tell the true story of the cowboy--someone who makes his living on horseback and with the land and who is dedicated to his way of life; and
- 6 WHEREAS, As a songwriter, Red has had more than 200
  7 compositions recorded and has released 26 consecutive records on
  8 the national charts and 20 albums; he has published two books
  9 embracing the Western lifestyle and has appeared in a number of
  10 movies; he has also appeared on numerous television shows and
  11 performed in Las Vegas and Reno; and
- WHEREAS, An exemplary gentleman and a highly acclaimed writer, performer, and rancher, Red Steagall has spent his life preserving and interpreting the cowboy traditions; the Texas Legislature in 1991 proclaimed him the official Cowboy Poet of Texas; and
- WHEREAS, The master cowboy storyteller has used his music to convey his heartfelt love for a people and a way of life that will continue to exist as long as poets and dreamers, men of character and honor like himself, perpetuate the West in story and song; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the State of
  Texas, 78th Legislature, hereby commend Russell Don Steagall for
  his exceptional talent and many achievements and extend
  congratulations to him for his induction into the Hall of Great
  Westerners at the National Cowboy & Western Heritage Museum; and,
- 27 be it further

- 1 RESOLVED, That a copy of this resolution be prepared for him
- 2 as an expression of highest esteem from the Texas House of

3 Representatives.

Geren

Craddick Giddings Merritt Allen Miller Goodman Moreno of Harris Goolsby Alonzo Bailey Moreno of El Paso Griggs Baxter Grusendorf Morrison Berman Guillen Mowery Gutierrez Naishtat Bohac Bonnen Haggerty Nixon Noriega Hamilton Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Hamric Oliveira Hardcastle Olivo Harper-Brown Burnam Paxton Callegari Hartnett Pena Campbell Heflin Phillips Canales Hegar Pickett Hiĺderbran Pitts Capelo Casteel Hill Puente Castro Hochberg Quintanilla Chavez Hodge Raymond Chisum Homer Reyna Riddle Christian Норе Coleman Hopson Ritter Cook of Navarro Howard Rodriguez Cook of Colorado Hughes Rose Corte Hunter Seaman Smith of Tarrant Crabb Hupp Crownover Isett Smith of Harris Jones of Lubbock Davis of Harris Smithee Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Davis of Dallas Solis Dawson Solomons Stick Delisi Keel Keffer of Dallas Swinford Denny Deshotel Keffer of Eastland Talton Driver King Taylor Dukes Kolkhorst Telford Thompson Dunnam Krusee Dutton Kuempel Truitt Edwards Turner Laney Laubenberg Eiland Uresti Eissler Lewis Van Arsdale Elkins Luna Villarreal Ellis Mabry West Farabee Madden Wilson Wise Farrar Marchant Martinez Fischer Wohlgemuth Flores Flynn McCall Wolens Gallego McClendon Wong McReynolds Woolley Garza Gattis Menendez Zedler

Mercer

Geren

TT	_	1A T -	940
н	R	NΩ	чд п

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 940 was adopted by the House on April 29, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House