By: Hamilton

H.R. No. 949

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The citizens of Newton County are marking an 2 important occasion in the history of their community as they 3 celebrate the dedication of a historical marker at the Wilson 4 Chapel Cemetery on April 19, 2003; and

5 WHEREAS, Wilson Chapel Cemetery is located about four miles 6 south of the city of Newton, in the Woods Community, at the 7 intersection of county roads 4002 and 4004; named for the Reverend 8 Francis Wilson, a notable East Texas preacher before and during the 9 Civil War, the cemetery is situated on land where an early Methodist 10 church was established by David McMahon, son of the Reverend Friend 11 McMahon, Sr., a pioneer local Methodist minister; and

12 WHEREAS, Also known as Woods Cemetery or Irvine Cemetery, it 13 is the site of four marked and several unmarked graves; those known 14 to be buried in Wilson Chapel Cemetery include David McMahon, the first Newton County attorney and founder of the chapel; his 15 brother, the Reverend Friend McMahon, Jr., a Methodist minister and 16 farmer whose burial was probably the first in the cemetery; 17 Josephus Somerville Irvine, a Civil War veteran, Methodist 18 minister, and early county organizer who is thought to have been the 19 youngest soldier, at 16, at the Battle of San Jacinto; and Edward G. 20 21 Didham, an English army captain and one of the first local teachers; 22 and

23 WHEREAS, The Wilson Chapel Cemetery is of great significance 24 to Newton County residents as a vital link to their forebears and

1

the rich history of East Texas, and the dedication of a historical marker is truly an event to celebrate; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas Legislature hereby congratulate the citizens of Newton County on the placement of a historical marker at the Wilson Chapel Cemetery;

H.R. No. 949

6 and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for the citizenry of Newton County as an expression of high
regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

2