RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Bryan Adams High School in Dallas is home to the Peer Assistance Leadership (PAL) team, a truly remarkable group of students who have devoted their time, talents, and resources toward the benefit of others, and on May 1, 2003, the Texas Commission on Volunteerism and Community Service, in conjunction with the office of the governor, is presenting these admirable young Texans with this year's Governor's Volunteer Award, Group Category; and

WHEREAS, The high school juniors and seniors who comprise PALs complete an average of 14,000 hours of volunteer work each year in activities that benefit senior citizens, children at risk, and impoverished and homeless Texans; the students have also encouraged their peers to participate in community service projects, joining with dozens of local agencies to host an enormously successful volunteer fair that recently attracted more than 900 students and teachers; and

WHEREAS, The PALs are known for the creativity and dedication they bring to solving some of their community's most challenging problems, and their efforts have been carried on by team alumni now in college and in the workplace; the Care Wears program, which was founded more than six years ago in response to the observations of those mentoring elementary students, has provided clothing to more than 3,600 children in need, and PALs have won national acclaim for the Bus Stop Buddies project, which matches children with older students who provide reassurance, guidance, and assistance at the

1 beginning of the school day; and

WHEREAS, PALs has implemented more than a dozen other community service programs that directly benefit the residents of the Lone Star State, providing assistance to poor families, educating grade-school children about the dangers of alcohol use, implementing a local Random Acts of Kindness Day, tutoring children during after-school hours, and mentoring special needs students; there are countless less tangible results of their works, too, for many of the children who have been helped by the group in the past are now proud members of the Peer Assistance Leadership team, carrying the torch of generosity and compassion that has been passed on to them by the volunteers of the past; and

WHEREAS, Exemplifying the group's motto, "Never doubt that a small group of people can change the world; indeed it's the only thing that ever has," the Bryan Adams High School PALs have made contributions that have helped to transform the lives of thousands of Texans for the better; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas Legislature hereby congratulate the members and advisors of the Bryan Adams High School Peer Assistance Leadership team on receiving the 2003 Governor's Volunteer Award, Group Category, and extend to them warmest best wishes for continued success in their future civic, personal, and professional endeavors; and, be it further

- 1 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 2 prepared for Bryan Adams High School as an expression of highest
- 3 regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Hodge

Craddick Giddings Merritt Allen Miller Goodman Moreno of Harris Goolsby Alonzo Bailey Moreno of El Paso Griggs Baxter Grusendorf Morrison Berman Guillen Mowery Gutierrez Naishtat Bohac Bonnen Haggerty Nixon Noriega Hamilton Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Hamric Oliveira Hardcastle Olivo Burnam Harper-Brown Paxton Callegari Hartnett Pena Campbell Heflin Phillips Canales Hegar Pickett Hiĺderbran Pitts Capelo Casteel Hill Puente Castro Hochberg Quintanilla Chavez Hodge Raymond Chisum Homer Reyna Riddle Christian Норе Coleman Hopson Ritter Cook of Navarro Howard Rodriguez Cook of Colorado Hughes Rose Corte Hunter Seaman Smith of Tarrant Crabb Hupp Crownover Isett Smith of Harris Jones of Lubbock Davis of Harris Smithee Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Davis of Dallas Solis Dawson Solomons Stick Delisi Keel Keffer of Dallas Swinford Denny Deshotel Keffer of Eastland Talton Driver King Taylor Dukes Kolkhorst Telford Thompson Dunnam Krusee Dutton Kuempel Truitt Edwards Turner Laney Eiland Laubenberg Uresti Eissler Lewis Van Arsdale Elkins Luna Villarreal Ellis Mabry West Farabee Madden Wilson Farrar Marchant Wise Martinez Fischer Wohlgemuth Flores Flynn McCall Wolens Gallego McClendon Wong McReynolds Woolley Garza Gattis Menendez Zedler

Mercer

Geren

TT	Ъ	7.T ~	986
н	R	Nο	98h

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 986 was adopted by the House on May 2, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House