## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, For 150 years, the Bexar County Medical Society has
- 2 been a tireless advocate for physicians, patients, and the
- 3 community at large; and
- WHEREAS, Chartered on September 22, 1853, the Bexar County
- 5 Medical Society is the oldest organization of its kind in Texas and
- 6 the eighth largest in the nation; and
- WHEREAS, Since its inception, the society has contributed to
- 8 the public health by being a leader in the fight to eradicate such
- 9 serious health threats as typhoid, smallpox, tuberculosis, and
- 10 polio; and
- 11 WHEREAS, It has also been involved in a host of worthwhile
- 12 health initiatives, including the first community blood bank in
- 13 Bexar County, the emergency medical response and transport system,
- 14 fluoridation of public drinking water, and a ban on smoking in
- 15 public places; and
- 16 WHEREAS, Throughout the course of its history, the Bexar
- 17 County Medical Society has demonstrated a deeply rooted commitment
- 18 to addressing the health concerns of South Texas, and it is a
- 19 pleasure to honor this organization for its myriad contributions to
- 20 the community; now, therefore, be it
- 21 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
- 22 Legislature hereby congratulate all those associated with the Bexar
- 23 County Medical Society on the organization's 150th anniversary and
- 24 extend to them sincere best wishes for continued success in their

- 1 many good works; and, be it further
- 2 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 3 prepared for the organization as an expression of high regard by the
- 4 Texas House of Representatives.

Jones of Bexar

Craddick Giddings Merritt Allen Miller Goodman Moreno of Harris Goolsby Alonzo Bailey Moreno of El Paso Griggs Baxter Grusendorf Morrison Berman Guillen Mowery Gutierrez Naishtat Bohac Bonnen Haggerty Nixon Noriega Hamilton Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Hamric Oliveira Hardcastle Olivo Burnam Harper-Brown Paxton Callegari Hartnett Pena Campbell Heflin Phillips Canales Hegar Pickett Hiĺderbran Pitts Capelo Casteel Hill Puente Castro Hochberg Quintanilla Chavez Hodge Raymond Chisum Homer Reyna Riddle Christian Норе Coleman Hopson Ritter Cook of Navarro Howard Rodriguez Cook of Colorado Hughes Rose Corte Hunter Seaman Smith of Tarrant Crabb Hupp Crownover Isett Smith of Harris Jones of Lubbock Davis of Harris Smithee Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Davis of Dallas Solis Dawson Solomons Stick Delisi Keel Keffer of Dallas Swinford Denny Deshotel Keffer of Eastland Talton Driver King Taylor Dukes Kolkhorst Telford Thompson Dunnam Krusee Dutton Kuempel Truitt Edwards Turner Laney Eiland Laubenberg Uresti Eissler Lewis Van Arsdale Elkins Luna Villarreal Ellis Mabry West Farabee Madden Wilson Wise Farrar Marchant Martinez Fischer Wohlgemuth Flores Flynn McCall Wolens Gallego McClendon Wong McReynolds Woolley Garza Gattis Menendez Zedler

Mercer

Geren

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1012 was adopted by the House on May 6, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House