H.R. No. 1024

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Each spring the Texas Commission on Environmental 2 Quality (TCEQ) honors the state's most outstanding waste reduction 3 and pollution prevention projects, presenting Texas Environmental Excellence Awards to individuals, organizations, schools, and 4 5 businesses that have created successful programs to conserve and 6 protect the environment; the awards are presented in a variety of categories, and this year first-time nominee Hidalgo County 7 Precinct 1 has been selected as one of only five finalists in the 8 9 government category; and

WHEREAS, Under the able guidance of county commissioner 10 11 Sylvia S. Handy, Hidalgo County Precinct 1 has developed an 12 exemplary solid waste management program that consists of several 13 key components, including a citizen collection station program, a 14 solid waste enforcement system, a recycling and reuse initiative, and a "Keep it Clean" environmental education campaign; the 15 precinct's efforts have proven extremely successful and beneficial 16 to the county, and the program has gained recognition for its 17 18 innovative approach; and

WHEREAS, The Texas Environmental Excellence Award program, which is considered by many environmental leaders to be one of the best in the country, received more than 50 applications from governmental entities this year, and Hidalgo County Precinct 1 was one of only five finalists chosen from this group, a feat all the more remarkable because this year marked the first time that the

1

H.R. No. 1024

precinct had applied for award consideration; as part of the application process, the precinct compiled extensive narratives, video footage of sanitation projects, and supplemental photographs and materials to show the judges the precinct's unique and highly effective approach to promoting sound management of solid waste in Hidalgo County; and

7 WHEREAS, Community residents are justifiably proud of the 8 success of the staff of Precinct 1, as well as of Commissioner 9 Sylvia S. Handy, for their outstanding efforts to protect the 10 environment of Hidalgo County; now, therefore, be it

11 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas 12 Legislature hereby congratulate Hidalgo County Precinct 1 on being 13 named a finalist in the government category of the Texas Commission 14 on Environmental Quality Environmental Excellence Award program 15 and commend Commissioner Sylvia S. Handy for her dedication and 16 hard work in behalf of her constituents; and, be it further

17 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 18 prepared for Hidalgo County Precinct 1 as an expression of high 19 regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Wise

2

Craddick Allen Alonzo Bailey Baxter Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Campbell Canales Capelo Casteel Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Crownover Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Dawson Delisi Denny Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins Ellis Farabee Farrar Flores Flynn Gallego Garza Gattis Geren

Giddings Goodman Goolsby Griggs Grusendorf Guillen Gutierrez Haggerty Hamilton Hamric Hardcastle Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hegar Hiĺderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Норе Hopson Howard Hughes Hunter Hupp Isett Jones of Lubbock Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Keel Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Laney Laubenberg Lewis Luna Mabry Madden Marchant Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez Mercer

Merritt Miller Moreno of Harris Moreno of El Paso Morrison Mowery Naishtat Nixon Noriega Oliveira Olivo Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Reyna Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solis Solomons Stick Swinford Talton Taylor Telford Thompson Truitt Turner Uresti Van Arsdale Villarreal West Wilson Wise Wohlgemuth Wolens Wong Woolley Zedler

H.R. No. 1024

H.R. No. 1024

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1024 was adopted by the House on May 7, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House