H.R. No. 1045

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Sul Ross State University men's basketball team 2 achieved outstanding success during the 2002-2003 season, winning 3 the American Southwest Conference West Division championship and 4 advancing to its first postseason competition in 67 years; and

5 WHEREAS, Featuring a high-scoring offense and pressure 6 defense, the Pack equaled the best men's hoops record in school 7 history with 19 wins against only six defeats, and the team was 8 particularly effective in conference competition, posting a 12-2 9 record in league play; and

10 WHEREAS, The Pack's remarkable season was the result of total 11 commitment to team goals by players Xavier Milligan, Sidney Hooper, 12 Larry Morales, Austin Mathis, Chris Evans, Andre Wright, Chris 13 Packer, Jorge Quintero, Hugh Morrissey, Michael Ortego, Derric 14 Workman, Rockland Owens, Jerron Goss, Omar Pineda, and Tony Mata; 15 and

16 WHEREAS, First-year head coach Doug Davalos instilled a 17 winning attitude in his charges and inspired them to perform to the 18 best of their abilities, laying the groundwork for future success; 19 and

20 WHEREAS, These outstanding athletes, with their coaches and 21 staff, are a source of tremendous pride to all those associated with 22 Sul Ross State University, and the team's accomplishments are 23 indeed worthy of special legislative recognition at this time; now, 24 therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 1045

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas 2 Legislature hereby congratulate the members of the Sul Ross State 3 University men's basketball team on their exceptional 2002-2003 4 campaign and extend to them sincere best wishes for continued 5 success; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for the team members and coaching staff as an expression of 8 high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Gallego

2

H.R. No. 1045

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1045 was adopted by the House on May 23, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House