By: Gallego H.R. No. 1045

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Sul Ross State University men's basketball team achieved outstanding success during the 2002-2003 season, winning the American Southwest Conference West Division championship and advancing to its first postseason competition in 67 years; and

WHEREAS, Featuring a high-scoring offense and pressure defense, the Pack equaled the best men's hoops record in school history with 19 wins against only six defeats, and the team was particularly effective in conference competition, posting a 12-2

WHEREAS, The Pack's remarkable season was the result of total commitment to team goals by players Xavier Milligan, Sidney Hooper, Larry Morales, Austin Mathis, Chris Evans, Andre Wright, Chris

Packer, Jorge Quintero, Hugh Morrissey, Michael Ortego, Derric

14 Workman, Rockland Owens, Jerron Goss, Omar Pineda, and Tony Mata;

15 and

9

13

16

17

18

record in league play; and

WHEREAS, First-year head coach Doug Davalos instilled a winning attitude in his charges and inspired them to perform to the best of their abilities, laying the groundwork for future success;

19 and

WHEREAS, These outstanding athletes, with their coaches and staff, are a source of tremendous pride to all those associated with Sul Ross State University, and the team's accomplishments are indeed worthy of special legislative recognition at this time; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 1045

- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas

  Legislature hereby congratulate the members of the Sul Ross State

  University men's basketball team on their exceptional 2002-2003

  campaign and extend to them sincere best wishes for continued

  success; and, be it further
- RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for the team members and coaching staff as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.