By: Dukes H.R. No. 1070

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, On May 10, 2003, the *Villager* celebrates 30 years of service to the residents of Austin, and this event is indeed deserving of special notice; and

WHEREAS, Publisher Tommy Wyatt began what was originally a one-man operation in 1973 as a four-page tabloid devoted mainly to the African-American citizenry in the Capitol City; the newspaper emphasized the community's history and offered readers positive news stories; and

WHEREAS, Since its inception, the *Villager* has been involved with issues important to local citizens, including neighborhood revitalization and the right of clinic-card holders to have a choice of pharmacies from which to buy their prescriptions; and

WHEREAS, Supporting youth on their path to become writers and community leaders has been a high priority of the publication through its Youth Brigade initiative; during anniversary festivities, former Youth Brigade members are paying tribute to their mentor with a special program honoring Mr. Wyatt; and

WHEREAS, As a lasting tribute to Mr. Wyatt and his commitment to the youth of his community, Congressman Lloyd Doggett and Ada Anderson, cochairs of the *Villager's* 30th anniversary celebration, announced the establishment of the \$50,000 Tommy L. Wyatt Scholarship Endowment Fund at Huston-Tillotson College; and

WHEREAS, For three decades, the *Villager* has worked in behalf of the people of Austin, and it is fitting that this respected

H.R. No. 1070

- 1 periodical be honored for its notable achievements at this time;
- 2 now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
- 4 Legislature hereby commend publisher Tommy Wyatt and the staff of
- 5 the *Villager* for 30 years of exceptional service to the citizens of
- 6 Austin and Central Texas and that they be extended best wishes for
- 7 success in the years to come; and, be it further
- 8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 9 prepared for the Villager as an expression of high regard by the
- 10 Texas House of Representatives.