H.R. No. 1076

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The year 2003 marks the 125th anniversary of the 2 town of Gruene, and among those residents celebrating this 3 milestone will be Pat Molak and Mary Jane Nalley, who have played a 4 central role over the past quarter-century in making Gruene a 5 popular tourist attraction; and

6 WHEREAS, Gruene is a historic district located on the 7 Guadalupe River in New Braunfels and was settled in the 1850s by 8 German farmers; in 1878 Henry D. Gruene built a mercantile store, 9 and by the turn of the century Gruene was a banking, ginning, and 10 shipping center, but the boll weevil blight and Great Depression 11 took a significant toll on the community, leaving it a veritable 12 ghost town; and

13 WHEREAS, Through it all, the centerpiece of this charming 14 locale has been Gruene Hall, which holds the distinction of being 15 the oldest continually operating dance hall in Texas; and

16 WHEREAS, A 6,000-square-foot structure topped with a 17 high-pitched tin roof, Gruene Hall has played host to a variety of 18 nationally known musical acts since its revitalization in the 19 mid-1970s, including George Strait, Garth Brooks, Willie Nelson, Bo 20 Diddley, Lyle Lovett, Jerry Jeff Walker, Asleep at the Wheel, Jerry 21 Lee Lewis, and others too numerous to mention; and

22 WHEREAS, The major architects of Gruene's transformation 23 from a sleepy town to a renowned music venue are Pat Molak and Mary 24 Jane Nalley; recognizing the building's possibilities for

1

renovation, Mr. Molak purchased Gruene Hall and was joined in 1977
by Ms. Nalley, who shared his vision of a revitalized Gruene; and

3 WHEREAS, Together they have not only made Gruene Hall a 4 nationally known point of interest, but are also the owners and 5 operators of such thriving ventures as the Gristmill River 6 Restaurant & Bar, Gruene Antique Company, Lone Star Country Goods, 7 Cotton-Eyed Joe's, and The Grapevine; and

8 WHEREAS, Pat Molak and Mary Jane Nalley have turned Gruene 9 into one of the most enjoyable tourist destinations in the Lone Star 10 State, and the city's 125th anniversary is an ideal opportunity to 11 honor them and the entire Gruene community; now, therefore, be it

12 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas 13 Legislature hereby recognize the 125th anniversary of Gruene, 14 Texas, and its centerpiece, Gruene Hall, and commend Pat Molak and 15 Mary Jane Nalley on their remarkable civic contributions; and, be 16 it further

17 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 18 prepared for Mr. Molak and Ms. Nalley as an expression of high 19 regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Casteel

H.R. No. 1076

2

Craddick Allen Alonzo Bailey Baxter Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Campbell Canales Capelo Casteel Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Crownover Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Dawson Delisi Denny Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins Ellis Escobar Farabee Farrar Flores Flynn Gallego Garza Gattis

Geren Giddings Goodman Goolsby Griggs Grusendorf Guillen Gutierrez Haggerty Hamilton Hamric Hardcastle Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hegar Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Норе Hopson Howard Hughes Hunter Hupp Isett Jones of Lubbock Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Keel Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Laney Laubenberg Lewis Luna Mabry Madden Marchant Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez

Mercer Merritt Miller Moreno of Harris Moreno of El Paso Morrison Mowery Naishtat Nixon Noriega Oliveira Olivo Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Reyna Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solis Solomons Stick Swinford Talton Taylor Telford Thompson Truitt Turner Uresti Van Arsdale Villarreal West Wilson Wise Wohlgemuth Wolens Wong Woolley Zedler

H.R. No. 1076

H.R. No. 1076

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1076 was adopted by the House on June 2, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House