H.R. No. 1101

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, For the third year in a row, a team of students from Spring Woods High School in Houston will compete at the Odyssey of the Mind World Finals, an international problem-solving competition that for more than 20 years has encouraged students around the globe to develop creative thinking and team-building skills; this year's championships will be held at Iowa State University in Ames May 28-31, 2003; and

WHEREAS, The Spring Woods "A Scene from Above" team, with the able guidance of coach Iris Story, has qualified for the World Finals by placing second in the Texas Odyssey of the Mind finals held in Austin on April 12; as the school year has drawn to a close, these dedicated young Texans have been preparing for the world championship, to be sponsored by NASA, in which teams will design vehicles to transport items to a location on Earth for the purpose of enhancing that scene's appearance from space; and

WHEREAS, This exemplary group of students, including Jessica Huettel, Spencer Machado, Kevin Miller, Matt Moore, Cherie Plouff, Addison Story, and Julia Wiens, has worked together as a team for seven years; this is the second time that this team has been invited to the World Finals, and the citizens of the Lone Star State join with the residents of Houston in commending them on their many exceptional achievements as scholars, thinkers, and performers; now, therefore, be it

24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas

H.R. No. 1101

- 1 Legislature hereby honor the members and coach of the Spring Woods
- 2 High School "A Scene from Above" team on their recent achievements
- 3 at the Texas Odyssey of the Mind competition and extend to them best
- 4 wishes for their continued success at the World Finals; and, be it
- 5 further
- 6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 7 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 8 House of Representatives.

Bohac

H.R. No. 1101

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1101 was adopted by the House on May 23, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House