## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, May 11, 2003, marks the 50th anniversary of the
- 2 infamous Waco Tornado, the deadliest tornado in Texas history and
- 3 one of the 10 deadliest tornadoes in the history of the United
- 4 States; and
- 5 WHEREAS, The massive F5 tornado tore a swath through Central
- 6 Texas in a matter of minutes, leaving 114 people dead and nearly
- 7 2,000 injured; the storm did unprecedented damage to the city of
- 8 Waco, destroying 600 homes and 2,000 vehicles and causing \$57
- 9 million in property damage; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Citizens of Waco will join together on the weekend
- of May 9-11 to commemorate this tragic event and the toll it took
- and also to celebrate the determination and strength of a community
- that overcame a disaster of monumental proportions to reestablish
- 14 itself; and
- 15 WHEREAS, Overcoming adversity is a trait common to the
- 16 citizens of Texas, and few examples can match the resiliency of the
- 17 citizens of Waco in their recovery from this epic, life-altering
- 18 event; now, therefore, be it
- 19 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
- 20 Legislature hereby commemorate the 50th anniversary of the Waco
- 21 Tornado and pay tribute to the memory of those individuals who lost
- their lives in this devastating natural disaster.

Mabry

## H.R. No. 1104

Craddick Giddings Merritt Allen Miller Goodman Moreno of Harris Goolsby Alonzo Bailey Moreno of El Paso Griggs Baxter Grusendorf Morrison Berman Guillen Mowery Gutierrez Naishtat Bohac Bonnen Haggerty Nixon Noriega Hamilton Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Hamric Oliveira Hardcastle Olivo Harper-Brown Burnam Paxton Callegari Hartnett Pena Campbell Heflin Phillips Canales Hegar Pickett Hiĺderbran Pitts Capelo Casteel Hill Puente Castro Hochberg Quintanilla Chavez Hodge Raymond Chisum Homer Reyna Норе Riddle Christian Coleman Hopson Ritter Cook of Navarro Howard Rodriguez Cook of Colorado Hughes Rose Corte Hunter Seaman Smith of Tarrant Crabb Hupp Crownover Isett Smith of Harris Jones of Lubbock Davis of Harris Smithee Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Davis of Dallas Solis Dawson Solomons Stick Delisi Keel Keffer of Dallas Swinford Denny Deshotel Keffer of Eastland Talton Driver King Taylor Dukes Kolkhorst Telford Thompson Dunnam Krusee Dutton Kuempel Truitt Edwards Turner Laney Laubenberg Eiland Uresti Eissler Lewis Van Arsdale Elkins Luna Villarreal Ellis Mabry West Farabee Madden Wilson Wise Farrar Marchant Martinez Fischer Wohlgemuth Flores Flynn McCall Wolens Gallego McClendon Wong McReynolds Woolley Garza Gattis Menendez Zedler

Mercer

Geren

H.R. No. 1104

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1104 was adopted by the House on May  $8,\ 2003$ , by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House