## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Around the world, people have set aside a day each year to honor those very special persons among us, the mothers who brought us into this world, protected us, and taught us how to make our way, and on May 11, 2003, Texans and all Americans will join in celebrating El Dia de las Madres/Mother's Day in the United States; and

WHEREAS, It is fitting that Mother's Day should be celebrated in the spring, when we see life renewed all around us; mothers give life, and they give fresh starts, forgiving their children's mistakes and wrong turns and encouraging them to try again and again; and

WHEREAS, On this day, we pay tribute to mothers for their stubborn persistence in seeking to give their children a bright and promising future; resourceful, strong, and brave in this quest, they are indeed heroes in every sense of the word; and

WHEREAS, Motherhood can truly be called "the toughest job you'll ever love," for it encompasses a tremendous range of challenges, opportunities, frustrations, and joys, and the ultimate rewards, intangible though they may be, are among life's most meaningful and enduring; all mothers share a powerful bond in the love they have for their children, and this love enriches our world beyond measure; now, therefore, be it

23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas 24 Legislature hereby honor the mothers at Father Martinez Senior

- 1 Center in El Paso and extend to these treasured women warmest best
- 2 wishes as we recognize all mothers in Texas for El Dia de las
- 3 Madres/Mother's Day.

Chavez

Craddick Geren Mercer Allen Giddings Merritt Alonzo Goodman Miller Bailey Goolsby Moreno of Harris Griggs Baxter Moreno of El Paso Berman Grusendorf Morrison Guillen Bohac Mowery Naishtat Bonnen Gutierrez Haggerty Branch Nixon Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Hamilton Noriega Hamric Oliveira Hardcastle Olivo Burnam Harper-Brown Callegari Paxton Campbell Hartnett Pena Heflin Canales Phillips Hegar Pickett Capelo Hilderbran Pitts Casteel Castro Hill Puente Quintanilla Hochberg Chavez Chisum Hodge Raymond Christian Homer Reyna Riddle Coleman Норе Cook of Navarro Hopson Ritter Cook of Colorado Howard Rodriguez Corte Hughes Rose Crabb Hunter Seaman Crownover Smith of Tarrant Hupp Davis of Harris Smith of Harris Isett Jones of Lubbock Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Davis of Dallas Smithee Dawson Solis Delisi Solomons Keel Stick Denny Deshotel Keffer of Dallas Swinford Keffer of Eastland Driver Talton Dukes King Taylor Kolkhorst Dunnam Telford Dutton Krusee Thompson Edwards Kuempel Truitt Laney Eiland Turner Eissler Laubenberg Uresti Elkins Lewis Van Arsdale Ellis Luna Villarreal Escobar Mabry West Wilson Farabee Madden Farrar Marchant Wise Martinez Fischer Wohlgemuth Flores McCall Wolens Flynn McClendon Gallego Wong Woolley Garza McReynolds Gattis

Zedler

Menendez

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1118 was adopted by the House on May 10, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House