H.R. No. 1124

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Around the world, people have set aside a day each 2 year to honor those very special persons among us, the mothers who 3 brought us into this world, protected us, and taught us how to make 4 our way, and on May 11, 2003, Texans and all Americans will join in 5 celebrating El Dia de las Madres/Mother's Day in the United States; 6 and

7 WHEREAS, It is fitting that Mother's Day should be celebrated 8 in the spring, when we see life renewed all around us; mothers give 9 life, and they give fresh starts, forgiving their children's 10 mistakes and wrong turns and encouraging them to try again and 11 again; and

12 WHEREAS, On this day, we pay tribute to mothers for their 13 stubborn persistence in seeking to give their children a bright and 14 promising future; resourceful, strong, and brave in this quest, 15 they are indeed heroes in every sense of the word; and

16 WHEREAS, Motherhood can truly be called "the toughest job 17 you'll ever love," for it encompasses a tremendous range of 18 challenges, opportunities, frustrations, and joys, and the 19 ultimate rewards, intangible though they may be, are among life's 20 most meaningful and enduring; all mothers share a powerful bond in 21 the love they have for their children, and this love enriches our 22 world beyond measure; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
Legislature hereby honor Eva Scott and extend to her warmest best

1

H.R. No. 1124 1 wishes as we recognize all mothers in Texas for El Dia de las 2 Madres/Mother's Day.

Chavez

Craddick Allen Alonzo Bailey Baxter Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Campbell Canales Capelo Casteel Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Crownover Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Dawson Delisi Denny Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins Ellis Escobar Farabee Farrar Flores Flynn Gallego Garza Gattis

Geren Giddings Goodman Goolsby Griggs Grusendorf Guillen Gutierrez Haggerty Hamilton Hamric Hardcastle Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hegar Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Норе Hopson Howard Hughes Hunter Hupp Isett Jones of Lubbock Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Keel Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Laney Laubenberg Lewis Luna Mabry Madden Marchant Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez

Mercer Merritt Miller Moreno of Harris Moreno of El Paso Morrison Mowery Naishtat Nixon Noriega Oliveira Olivo Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Reyna Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solis Solomons Stick Swinford Talton Taylor Telford Thompson Truitt Turner Uresti Van Arsdale Villarreal West Wilson Wise Wohlgemuth Wolens Wong Woolley Zedler

H.R. No. 1124

H.R. No. 1124

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1124 was adopted by the House on May 10, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House