H.R. No. 1128

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Since 1949, Camp Ozark has provided generations of 2 young people with a fun and challenging summer camp experience; and 3 WHEREAS, A Christian sports camp, the facility is located in Mt. Ida, Arkansas, and serves children ages 7-17, most of whom are 4 5 from Texas; Sam and Susan Torn of Houston acquired Camp Ozark in 6 1985, and since that time the couple have expanded the camp from 375 campers each summer to more than 2,500 campers; and 7 WHEREAS, This special summer camp instills a sense of 8 9

WHEREAS, This special summer camp instills a sense of adventure and independence in young people by challenging them physically, mentally, and spiritually; camp counselors serve an important function by acting as role models for youngsters, encouraging them in their personal growth, and helping them develop confidence, self-respect, responsibility, moral and spiritual values, and a strong sense of personal identity; and

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

WHEREAS, "First Is Third" is the theme of Camp Ozark's spiritual emphasis; the Torns and their staff believe that in order to "win" in our lives, one must place God first, others second, and ourselves third; by placing ourselves third, by being "F.I.T.," we actually come in first in the "game of life"; and

WHEREAS, These lessons, once learned, provide the framework for a happy and fulfilling life, and the impact of a positive summer camp experience can influence an individual well into adulthood; now, therefore, be it

24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas

H.R. No. 1128

- 1 Legislature hereby commend Sam and Susan Torn and all those
- 2 associated with Camp Ozark for helping to encourage and inspire
- 3 generations of Texas youth; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for Camp Ozark as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 6 House of Representatives.

Bohac

H.R. No. 1128

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1128 was adopted by the House on May 23, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House