RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, For 45 years, the Reverend M. L. Jackson has been the spiritual leader of Bethlehem Missionary Baptist Church in Houston, and he is to be commended for his many years of inspirational

service with this venerable institution; and

4

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

5 WHEREAS, Reverend Jackson and his wife, Clara Belle Bennett 6 Jackson, have long fostered faith and fellowship among the 7 worshipers at Bethlehem Missionary Baptist Church, providing 8 visionary leadership and moral direction for their fellow 9 congregants; and

WHEREAS, A man of generosity and integrity, Reverend Jackson has held numerous leadership roles during nearly five decades as pastor; he has served as moderator of the South Texas District Association for 15 years and is a member of the National Baptist Publishing Board; and

WHEREAS, In addition, this notable gentleman is vice president of the Baptist Ministers' Association of Houston and Vicinity and is chairman of the Churches and Public Affairs of the District Task Force; he has also served as director of the Houston Area State Ushers and Nurses and is a highly regarded lecturer; and

WHEREAS, The congregants of Bethlehem Missionary Baptist Church are truly blessed and privileged to worship with Reverend and Mrs. Jackson, and it is a pleasure to pay tribute to this remarkable couple and to offer best wishes to the congregation for a joyous and memorable anniversary celebration; now, therefore, be it

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas 2 Legislature hereby honor the Reverend M. L. Jackson and Clara Belle 3 Bennett Jackson on the occasion of his 45th anniversary as pastor of 4 Bethlehem Missionary Baptist Church and commend them for their many years of outstanding service to their church and community; and, be 5 6 it further 7 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for Dr. and Mrs. Jackson as an expression of high regard by 8

the Texas House of Representatives.

9

Dutton

Craddick Geren Mercer Allen Giddings Merritt Alonzo Goodman Miller Bailey Goolsby Moreno of Harris Griggs Baxter Moreno of El Paso Berman Grusendorf Morrison Guillen Bohac Mowery Naishtat Bonnen Gutierrez Haggerty Branch Nixon Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Hamilton Noriega Hamric Oliveira Hardcastle Olivo Burnam Harper-Brown Callegari Paxton Campbell Hartnett Pena Heflin Canales Phillips Hegar Pickett Capelo Hilderbran Pitts Casteel Castro Hill Puente Quintanilla Hochberg Chavez Chisum Hodge Raymond Christian Homer Reyna Riddle Coleman Норе Cook of Navarro Hopson Ritter Cook of Colorado Howard Rodriguez Corte Hughes Rose Crabb Hunter Seaman Crownover Smith of Tarrant Hupp Davis of Harris Smith of Harris Isett Jones of Lubbock Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Davis of Dallas Smithee Dawson Solis Delisi Solomons Keel Stick Denny Deshotel Keffer of Dallas Swinford Keffer of Eastland Driver Talton Dukes King Taylor Kolkhorst Telford Dunnam Dutton Krusee Thompson Edwards Kuempel Truitt Laney Eiland Turner Eissler Laubenberg Uresti Elkins Lewis Van Arsdale Ellis Luna Villarreal Escobar Mabry West Wilson Farabee Madden Farrar Marchant Wise Martinez Fischer Wohlgemuth Flores McCall Wolens Flynn McClendon Gallego Wong Woolley Garza McReynolds Gattis

Zedler

Menendez

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1186 was adopted by the House on May 16, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House