H.R. No. 1191

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Valerie Reese of Waxahachie has deservedly been 2 accorded a great honor by the Texas Association of Secondary School 3 Principals (TASSP) with her selection as a member of the TASSP 4 All-State Academic Excellence Team; and

5 WHEREAS, TASSP created this honor to recognize Texas high 6 school seniors for their outstanding academic achievements; nominations to the TASSP All-State Academic Excellence Team are 7 determined by the students' SAT or ACT scores, grade point 8 9 averages, pursuit of an advanced diploma, and other indications of exceptional academic ability; after being nominated, students must 10 11 then submit an essay along with an application for team membership; 12 and

13 WHEREAS, A 2003 graduating senior at Waxahachie High School, 14 Ms. Reese is one of only 20 students statewide to be chosen for this prestigious award, which will garner her an invitation to the TASSP 15 16 summer workshop on June 12, 2003, where she will receive her \$500 cash award; Ms. Reese has been the recipient of other scholastic 17 18 recognitions as well, including the Lechner Scholarship from Texas A&M University, the Waxahachie Academic Boosters Scholarship, and 19 the M. E. Singleton Scholarship; and 20

21 WHEREAS, Through hard work and determination, Valerie Reese 22 has consistently pursued a high level of academic excellence, and 23 she is a source of tremendous pride for her family, school, and 24 community; now, therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 1191

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas Legislature hereby congratulate Valerie Reese on being named to the TASSP All-State Academic Excellence Team and extend to her warmest best wishes for continued success and happiness; and, be it further RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for Ms. Reese as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Pitts

H.R. No. 1191

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1191 was adopted by the House on May 23, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House