RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Tim Duncan of the San Antonio Spurs has been named the National Basketball Association's Most Valuable Player for the second consecutive year, and he is to be commended for this extraordinary accomplishment; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Duncan led the Spurs to a league-best 60-22 regular season record, averaging 23.3 points, 12.9 rebounds, 3.9 assists, and 2.92 blocks per game; he is the eighth player to win the coveted award in consecutive seasons, joining such basketball legends as Michael Jordan, Magic Johnson, Larry Bird, Moses Malone, Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Wilt Chamberlain, and Bill Russell; and

WHEREAS, Born in St. Croix, Virgin Islands, Mr. Duncan attended Wake Forest University, earning a degree in psychology and establishing the Atlantic Coast Conference record for career blocked shots; the first pick of the 1997 NBA draft, he was named Rookie of the Year in 1998 and led the Spurs to the NBA title the following year; and

WHEREAS, Known more for fundamentals than flash, Mr. Duncan has established himself as one of the league's elite players during his six seasons; he is a player who possesses the rare combination of superlative offensive skills and dominating defensive presence, and he remains a model of consistency on both ends of the court as well as a role model off it; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
Legislature hereby congratulate Tim Duncan on being named 2003 NBA

- 1 Most Valuable Player and extend to him and his teammates best wishes
- 2 for success in this year's playoffs; and, be it further
- 3 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 4 prepared for Mr. Duncan as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 5 House of Representatives.

McClendon

Craddick Geren Mercer Allen Giddings Merritt Alonzo Goodman Miller Bailey Goolsby Moreno of Harris Griggs Baxter Moreno of El Paso Berman Grusendorf Morrison Guillen Bohac Mowery Naishtat Bonnen Gutierrez Haggerty Branch Nixon Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Hamilton Noriega Hamric Oliveira Hardcastle Olivo Burnam Harper-Brown Callegari Paxton Campbell Hartnett Pena Heflin Canales Phillips Hegar Pickett Capelo Hilderbran Pitts Casteel Castro Hill Puente Quintanilla Hochberg Chavez Chisum Hodge Raymond Christian Homer Reyna Coleman Riddle Норе Cook of Navarro Hopson Ritter Cook of Colorado Howard Rodriguez Corte Hughes Rose Crabb Hunter Seaman Crownover Smith of Tarrant Hupp Davis of Harris Smith of Harris Isett Jones of Lubbock Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Davis of Dallas Smithee Dawson Solis Delisi Solomons Keel Stick Denny Deshotel Keffer of Dallas Swinford Driver Keffer of Eastland Talton Dukes King Taylor Kolkhorst Dunnam Telford Dutton Krusee Thompson Edwards Kuempel Truitt Laney Eiland Turner Eissler Laubenberg Uresti Elkins Lewis Van Arsdale Ellis Luna Villarreal West Escobar Mabry Wilson Farabee Madden Farrar Marchant Wise Martinez Fischer Wohlgemuth Flores McCall Wolens Flynn McClendon Gallego Wong Woolley Garza McReynolds

Zedler

Menendez

Gattis

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1209 was adopted by the House on May 16, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House