H.R. No. 1226

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Citizens of Oak Cliff have honored esteemed resident 1 2 Dr. Caesar A. W. Clark, Sr., by encouraging the U.S. Congress to 3 designate the facility located at 1502 East Kiest Boulevard in Dallas as the Dr. Caesar A. W. Clark, Sr., Post Office Building; and 4 5 WHEREAS, A native of Shreveport, Louisiana, Dr. Clark has been a leader in the Oak Cliff community for more than 50 years, 6 mentoring and ministering to his fellow citizens and offering 7 leadership, encouragement, and counsel to those in need; and 8

9 WHEREAS, Since 1950, this highly regarded evangelist has 10 served as pastor of Good Street Missionary Baptist Church, and his 11 biblical knowledge and visionary interpretations of scripture have 12 established him as one of the nation's noteworthy religious 13 scholars; and

14 WHEREAS, A member of myriad religious and civic organizations 15 and associations, Dr. Clark has brought God's message to countless 16 individuals throughout the world; his civic endeavors include the 17 construction of the C. A. W. Clark Community Center and the 18 establishment of the C. A. W. Clark scholarship fund; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Clark's list of awards and accolades includes the Steeple Living Legend Award, the Outstanding Texan Award, and induction into the Preachers' Hall of Fame; his efforts in support of his fellow congregants and citizens are indeed inspirational, and it is a privilege to recognize him on the occasion of this most recent honor; now, therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 1226

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas 2 Legislature hereby pay tribute to Dr. Caesar A. W. Clark, Sr., and 3 commend him for his longtime service to the citizens of Oak Cliff; 4 and, be it further

5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 6 prepared for Dr. Clark as an expression of high regard by the Texas 7 House of Representatives.

Jones of Dallas

H.R. No. 1226

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1226 was adopted by the House on May 23, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House