H.R. No. 1268

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Reverend Tyrone D. Gordon of Dallas is serving
- 2 as Pastor of the Day for the Texas House of Representatives on May
- 3 12, 2003; and
- WHEREAS, An honors graduate of Bishop College in Dallas,
- 5 Reverend Gordon pursued graduate course work at Fuller Theological
- 6 Seminary in California and received a master of divinity degree
- 7 from Perkins School of Theology at Southern Methodist University;
- 8 and
- 9 WHEREAS, He has served as the spiritual head of the
- 10 5,000-person congregation at St. Luke Community United Methodist
- 11 Church since July 2002, coming to Dallas from Saint Mark United
- 12 Methodist Church in Wichita, Kansas, a church that experienced a
- dramatic increase from 350 members to more than 2,500 in just four
- 14 years under his guidance; and
- WHEREAS, Admired as a leader within his denomination, he has
- served on the General Council on Ministries, on the General Board of
- 17 Discipleship board of directors, and as a board member and national
- 18 president of Black Methodists for Church Renewal; and
- 19 WHEREAS, Appreciated for his many good works, he was the
- 20 recipient of a 2000 Brotherhood/Sisterhood Award from the National
- 21 Conference for Community and Justice, as well as numerous other
- 22 awards; and
- 23 WHEREAS, We are blessed to have this esteemed clergyman with
- us today, and it is fitting that the members of this chamber welcome

H.R. No. 1268

- 1 him; now, therefore, be it
- 2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
- 3 Legislature hereby commend the Reverend Tyrone D. Gordon, pastor of
- 4 St. Luke Community United Methodist Church in Dallas, and thank him
- 5 for his service as Pastor of the Day; and, be it further
- 6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 7 prepared for Reverend Gordon as an expression of high regard and
- 8 best wishes from the Texas House of Representatives.

Giddings

H.R. No. 1268

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1268 was adopted by the House on May 24, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House