By: Chavez

H.R. No. 1278

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The safe recovery of six members of the 507th 2 Maintenance Company, United States Army, who had been taken 3 prisoner in Iraq, has been cause for thanksgiving and celebration 4 across the length and breadth of this country; and

5 WHEREAS, Specialist Edgar Adan Hernandez, Specialist Joseph 6 Neal Hudson, Specialist Shoshana Nyree Johnson, Private First Class 7 Jessica D. Lynch, Private First Class Patrick Wayne Miller, and 8 Sergeant James J. Riley were captured during an ambush in southern 9 Iraq on March 23, 2003; nine other members of their unit died as a 10 result of the attack; and

WHEREAS, In the days of fearful uncertainty that followed the 11 12 ambush, Americans hung on news coverage of the war, hoping for an 13 encouraging word about the fate of these prisoners; on April 1 the 14 country received with elation the announcement that Private Lynch had been found in an Iraqi hospital and returned to American forces; 15 two long weeks later, on April 13, military authorities relayed the 16 joyful news that the five remaining prisoners from the 507th had 17 18 been rescued by Marines in northern Iraq; and

WHEREAS, Private Lynch is presently being treated at Walter Reed Army Medical Center for injuries she sustained in the fighting on March 23, and it is hoped that she will be released from that facility in June; her five comrades returned to an ecstatic welcome at Fort Bliss on April 19, 2003, and subsequently received leave to spend time with their families; and

1

H.R. No. 1278

1 WHEREAS, Americans owe an immeasurable debt to these six 2 courageous soldiers for their devotion to duty and their country 3 and for the great sacrifice they have made in this nation's behalf; 4 as they continue to recover from the hardships they have endured, 5 may they know that they remain in the thoughts and hearts of 6 countless fellow citizens; now, therefore, be it

7 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas 8 Legislature hereby honor Specialist Edgar Adan Hernandez, 9 Specialist Joseph Neal Hudson, Specialist Shoshana Nyree Johnson, 10 Private First Class Jessica D. Lynch, Private First Class Patrick 11 Wayne Miller, and Sergeant James J. Riley for their valorous 12 service as members of the United States Army and extend to them 13 sincere appreciation for their heroic efforts; and, be it further

14 RESOLVED, That official copies of this resolution be prepared 15 for these esteemed men and women as an expression of high regard by 16 the Texas House of Representatives.

2