H.R. No. 1289

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Weslaco Independent School District Migrant
Department was recently honored at the Texas State Migrant
Conference for its excellent work with migrant students; and

WHEREAS, Receiving more awards than any other school 4 5 district, Weslaco migrant department staff are Luis Fernandez, Tina Gonzales, Chris Cantu, Sylvia Caballero, Jo Ann Martinez, Marlene 6 Salinas, Lucy Escamilla, Beulah Desiga, Nora Perez, Diane Medeles, 7 Orfelinda Martinez, Yolanda Caballero, Viola Zuniga, Sylvia 8 Cavazos, Janie Villareal, and Mary Mendoza; ably leading this 9 superb team are head recruiter Rosa Mora and WISD Migrant 10 11 Coordinator Linda Taormina; and

12 WHEREAS, This Title One Migrant Department earned All State 13 Honors and won the second place award for identifying and 14 recruiting more than 5,000 migrant students in 2001-2002; among the individual award recipients were Linda Taormina with 15 the Distinguished Service Award for Migrant Education and Yolanda 16 Caballero with the New Generation Specialist Award; furthermore, 17 Weslaco ISD received the Excelling District Award for obtaining an 18 80 percent passing rate among migrant students in the 2002 TAAS; and 19 WHEREAS, Through hard work and dedication, the members of the 20 21 migrant department of Weslaco ISD have positively influenced the 22 lives of thousands of young people and earned the respect and admiration of their community; now, therefore, be it 23

24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas

1

Legislature hereby congratulate the Weslaco ISD Migrant Department for its outstanding work with migrant students and its awards received during the Texas State Migrant Conference; and, be it further

5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 6 prepared for the Weslaco ISD Migrant Department as an expression of 7 high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Wise

H.R. No. 1289

H.R. No. 1289

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1289 was adopted by the House on May 24, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House