H.R. No. 1290

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Donna High School Migrant Department has been 2 awarded first-place recognition in the category of long-distance

3 learning at the 2002 Texas Migrant Education Conference; and

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

WHEREAS, For the fourth consecutive year, the Donna High School Migrant Department has earned this well-deserved first-place ranking, a tribute to both the program's quality and its collaborative efforts with universities to meet the educational needs of migrant students; and

WHEREAS, The department attained the highest number of courses-on-disk completions through the UT-Austin Migrant Program in the Migrant Education Options (MEO) Lab; this valuable avenue allows students who cannot complete the entire class in person to make up credit through UT-Austin correspondence, course-on-disk, or on-line course work; and

WHEREAS, MEO Lab equipment consists of 20 computers available specifically to migrant students and a library of core courses, including technology and communications offerings, that may be accessed through UT-Austin correspondence; and

WHEREAS, The students and faculty of the Donna High School Migrant Department have performed admirably in their quest for academic excellence, and their notable achievements are indeed worthy of special commendation; now, therefore, be it

23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas 24 Legislature hereby congratulate the Donna High School Migrant

H.R. No. 1290

- 1 Department on receiving first-place recognition in long-distance
- 2 learning at the 2002 Texas Migrant Education Conference and that
- 3 all those affiliated with the department be extended best wishes
- 4 for continued success; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for the Donna High School Migrant Department as an
- 7 expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Wise

H.R. No. 1290

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1290 was adopted by the House on May 24, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House