H.R. No. 1301

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Celebrated entertainer Steve Harvey has established himself as one of the premier comedians in the world, and a flag has been flown over the State Capitol in his honor on the occasion of his visit to Austin; and

5 WHEREAS, A native of Cleveland, Ohio, Mr. Harvey is best 6 known as the host of the popular *It's Showtime at the Apollo* and as 7 the star and creative force behind *The Steve Harvey Show*, the 8 critically acclaimed television program that captured four NAACP 9 Image Awards during its six-year run; and

WHEREAS, One of the "Original Kings of Comedy," this mustachioed comic actor made the successful transition from comedy clubs to television and the big screen; he has recently been seen as the host of the "2002 Essence Awards Television Special," the "Essence Music Festival," and the "2002 BET Awards"; and

15 WHEREAS, Mr. Harvey has received numerous honors and 16 accolades for his work, including four NAACP Image Awards as 17 "Outstanding Actor in a Comedy Series" and selection as the NAACP 18 Image Awards "Entertainer of the Year"; he also hosts Los Angeles's 19 number one morning radio show, which was recently syndicated in 20 Houston and Dallas, and he performs extensive community service in 21 support of those in need; and

22 WHEREAS, A versatile and talented actor, comedian, and 23 all-around entertainer, Steve Harvey continues to bring laughter 24 and joy into the lives of countless Americans, and we are all the

1

H.R. No. 1301

1 richer for his efforts; now, therefore, be it

2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas 3 Legislature hereby recognize May 20, 2003, as Steve Harvey Day in 4 the State of Texas and extend best wishes to Mr. Harvey for 5 continued success in his endeavors; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for Mr. Harvey as an expression of high regard by the Texas 8 House of Representatives.

Wilson

Craddick Allen Alonzo Bailey Baxter Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Campbell Canales Capelo Casteel Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Crownover Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Dawson Delisi Denny Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins Ellis Escobar Farabee Farrar Flores Flynn Gallego Garza Gattis

Geren Giddings Goodman Goolsby Griggs Grusendorf Guillen Gutierrez Haggerty Hamilton Hamric Hardcastle Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hegar Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Норе Hopson Howard Hughes Hunter Hupp Isett Jones of Lubbock Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Keel Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Laney Laubenberg Lewis Luna Mabry Madden Marchant Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez

Mercer Merritt Miller Moreno of Harris Moreno of El Paso Morrison Mowery Naishtat Nixon Noriega Oliveira Olivo Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Reyna Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solis Solomons Stick Swinford Talton Taylor Telford Thompson Truitt Turner Uresti Van Arsdale Villarreal West Wilson Wise Wohlgemuth Wolens Wong Woolley Zedler

H.R. No. 1301

H.R. No. 1301

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1301 was adopted by the House on May 20, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House