By: Garza H.R. No. 1312

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Dr. Sergio Zamora of Eagle Pass has received the 2 Physician of the Year for the State of Texas Award, presented in

Washington, D.C., at a dinner attended by President George W. Bush

and hosted by the Republican Congressional Committee; and

5 WHEREAS, Dr. Zamora works with a dedicated and efficient 6 staff to offer patients the highest level of medical care and 7 compassion; staff members include Isela Segura, office manager and 8 nurse; Dalila Pérez, billing/posting clerk; Marisol Barrera and 9 Rachel Moreno, medical assistants; Selene Fernández, receptionist;

and Manuel Rodriguez, custodian; and

3

4

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

WHEREAS, Dr. Zamora earned his medical degree from La Universidad Autónoma de Nuevo Leon in Mexico and completed his residency in internal medicine in Monterrey, Mexico; he completed further training at IMSS Hospital at Acuna and Piedras Negras, in Coahuila, Mexico; and

WHEREAS, After immigrating to the United States in 1986, this esteemed physician served as director of the Santa Anna Occupational Physical Therapy Clinic in California for several years before returning to school; he earned a degree in osteopathic medicine from the College of Osteopathic Medicine of the Pacific and was honored at graduation for being the first student in that profession to finish the four-year program in only three years; further, he was one of the first individuals to be certified as a medical doctor and an osteopathic doctor; and

## H.R. No. 1312

- WHEREAS, He served an internship at Doctor's Hospital in Groves, Texas, followed by a residency in family medicine at the University of North Texas Health Science Center in Fort Worth and the Osteopathic Medical Center of Texas; in addition, he was certified as a wound specialist by the American Academy of Wound Management; since 1997, Dr. Zamora has been in private practice in
- 8 WHEREAS, Dr. Zamora's exceptional commitment to providing 9 high-quality health care has served to benefit countless 10 individuals, and it is indeed appropriate that he receive special
- 11 recognition at this time; now, therefore, be it

7

Eagle Pass; and

- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas

  Legislature hereby congratulate Dr. Sergio Zamora on his receipt of

  the Physician of the Year for the State of Texas Award and extend to

  him best wishes for continued success and happiness; and, be it

  further
- RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for Dr. Zamora as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.