## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The 78th Texas Legislature is the inaugural session of the Moreno/Rangel Legislative Leadership program, named in honor of Representatives Paul C. Moreno and Irma Rangel; and

WHEREAS, This outstanding program provides opportunities for undergraduates and graduate students from Texas universities to serve as policy interns for members of the Texas House of Representatives, who volunteer their time and effort to serve as mentors and role models; and

WHEREAS, Internships offered by the Moreno/Rangel Legislative Leadership program are awarded on a competitive basis and offer the best and brightest young Texans opportunities to learn about the formulation of public policy and the legislative process from elected officials and state agency representatives; and

WHEREAS, The students selected to participate in the 2003 program are: Alyssa Cervantes from El Paso, serving in the office of State Representative Kino Flores; Tony Chapa from San Antonio, serving in the office of State Representative Lon Burnam; Aaron Garza from Harlingen, serving in the office of State Representative Norma Chavez; Ester Leal from Harlingen, serving in the office of State Representative Rene Oliveira; Izhmon Martinez from Lubbock, serving in the office of State Representative Vilma Luna; Angel Nails from Spring, serving in the office of State Representative Robert Puente; Manny Salazar from Kingsville, serving in the office

of State Representative Elvira Reyna; Jed Silva from San Antonio,

2 serving in the office of State Representative Rick Noriega; Cynthia

3 Villanueva from Cibolo, serving in the office of State

4 Representative Jim Solis; Patricia Villarreal from McAllen,

5 serving in the office of State Representative Miguel "Mike" Wise;

6 Victor Villarreal from Laredo, serving in the office of State

Representative Pete Gallego; and Angie Von Pageler from Midland,

serving in the office of State Representative Dora Olivo; and

WHEREAS, This unique leadership program selects interns from universities across the State of Texas, thereby promoting diversity in government affairs while enabling those selected to experience the satisfactions and rewards of public service; now, therefore, be

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas Legislature hereby honor the successful implementation of the Moreno/Rangel Legislative Leadership program and commend this important and progressive initiative to develop the public service

18 skills of tomorrow's leaders.

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

it

Gallego
Puente
Olivo
Solis
Moreno of El Paso

Craddick Geren Mercer Allen Giddings Merritt Alonzo Goodman Miller Bailey Goolsby Moreno of Harris Griggs Baxter Moreno of El Paso Berman Grusendorf Morrison Guillen Bohac Mowery Naishtat Bonnen Gutierrez Haggerty Branch Nixon Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Hamilton Noriega Hamric Oliveira Hardcastle Olivo Burnam Harper-Brown Callegari Paxton Campbell Hartnett Pena Heflin Canales Phillips Hegar Pickett Capelo Hilderbran Pitts Casteel Castro Hill Puente Quintanilla Hochberg Chavez Chisum Hodge Raymond Christian Homer Reyna Coleman Riddle Норе Cook of Navarro Hopson Ritter Cook of Colorado Howard Rodriguez Corte Hughes Rose Crabb Hunter Seaman Crownover Smith of Tarrant Hupp Davis of Harris Smith of Harris Isett Jones of Lubbock Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Davis of Dallas Smithee Dawson Solis Delisi Solomons Keel Stick Denny Deshotel Keffer of Dallas Swinford Driver Keffer of Eastland Talton Dukes King Taylor Kolkhorst Dunnam Telford Dutton Krusee Thompson Edwards Kuempel Truitt Laney Eiland Turner Eissler Laubenberg Uresti Elkins Lewis Van Arsdale Ellis Luna Villarreal West Escobar Mabry Wilson Farabee Madden Farrar Marchant Wise Martinez Fischer Wohlgemuth Flores McCall Wolens Flynn McClendon Gallego Wong Woolley Garza McReynolds

Zedler

Menendez

Gattis

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1349 was adopted by the House on May 28, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House