H.R. No. 1358

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Since 1979, the Greater Houston Preservation 2 Alliance has recognized local contributors to the preservation, 3 restoration, and enhancement of Houston's architectural heritage through the presentation of its Good Brick Award, and it is a 4 5 pleasure to join in honoring one of this year's deserving 6 recipients; and WHEREAS, Fondly remembered by many Texans as the site of 7 Weldon Cafeteria, the building at 4916 Main Street was designed by 8 MacKie & Kamrath Architects, and its two-story, cantilevered dining 9 room garnered significant media attention when it opened in 1949; 10 11 the cafeteria closed in the early 1970s, and over the ensuing years, 12 tenants in the building made extensive alterations to the original 13 structure, including the installation of a 9-foot suspended ceiling 14 in the dining room and the construction of a gas station out front; 15 and WHEREAS, In 1999, the gas station and building were purchased 16 by one owner, and the gas station was torn down; shortly thereafter, 17 18 Ray + Hollington Architects leased the space for use as its studio and quickly set about returning the building to its original 19 splendor, restoring MacKie & Kamrath's interior design in the 20 21 process; and 22 WHEREAS, A true architectural treasure, this structure is yet

again a valued part of the Houston landscape and is certain to be

admired for years to come; now, therefore, be it

23

24

H.R. No. 1358

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas 2 Legislature hereby congratulate Ray + Hollington Architects on the 3 receipt of a Greater Houston Preservation Alliance 2003 Good Brick 4 Award and commend the members of the firm for their work in 5 preserving the unique architectural heritage of their city; and, be 6 it further RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 8 prepared for them as an expression of high regard by the Texas House

of Representatives.

9

Wong

H.R. No. 1358

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1358 was adopted by the House on May 28, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House