H.R. No. 1435

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Youth Leadership Council of the Greater Houston 2 Area is sponsoring its 15th annual Leadership Conference at Rice 3 University from June 27 to June 29, 2003, an event that will bring together young professionals, college students, and community 4 5 leaders with outstanding Asian-American high school students; and WHEREAS, The Youth Leadership Council of the Greater Houston 6 Area is an organization founded in 1988 with the mission of 7 leadership skills 8 strengthening among greater Houston's 9 Asian-American youth; and WHEREAS, Featuring workshops, discussions, guest speakers, 10 and theme-oriented activities, the conference evolves to address 11 12 problems facing each new generation and adapts to the ever-changing 13 interests of the students; it has already helped more than 1,500 14 Texans explore their potential as current and future leaders, gain new insights into the methods and responsibilities of leadership, 15 and identify and strengthen leadership skills; and 16 WHEREAS, Cultural and economic progress in the Lone Star 17 18 State depends on young Texans who are prepared to meet the challenges facing the state's growing and increasingly diverse 19 population; the Youth Leadership Council has helped Houston-area 20 21 students develop these leadership skills for 15 years, and conference organizers, participants, and alumni are to be commended 22 23 on their foresight and dedication; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas

24

H.R. No. 1435

- 1 Legislature hereby recognize the Youth Leadership Council's 15th
- 2 annual Leadership Conference and extend best wishes to all
- 3 participants for an enjoyable, informative, and productive event;
- 4 and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for the Youth Leadership Council as an expression of high
- 7 regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Wong

H.R. No. 1435

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1435 was adopted by the House on May 28, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House