By: Crownover

H.R. No. 1437

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Denton Ryan High School Raider football team 2 ascended to the pinnacle of success by winning the 2002 UIL Class 3 4A, Division II, state championship, and this notable achievement 4 merits commendation; and

5 WHEREAS, Facing Brenham High School in the title contest, 6 these exceptional Raider players refused to be denied, 7 demonstrating true championship heart in completely dominating 8 their opponent 38-8, to claim the coveted crown and complete their 9 campaign with a record of 15-1; and

WHEREAS, The season's outstanding success was a result of 10 11 total dedication to the team concept by players Rashid Washington, 12 Caleb McCool, Myron Newberry, Derek Lokey, Charlie Jefferson, Justin Akers, Xavier Kelley, Louis Ordonez, Juan San Miguel, Nathan 13 14 Haskins, John Brice, Kevin Gajdos, Jarvis Moss, Daniel Lopez, David Macias, Jesse Villarreal, Jackie Smith, Armand Kohandani, James 15 16 Battle, Blake Kelsey, Chris Jones, Derrick Brent, Ishie Odeuwgu, Josh Pulattie, Monty Hoke, Chris Lawson, Jason Roddy, Zach 17 18 Highfill, Chris Richard, Jeremy Spitler, William Dowdy, Josh Kitchens, Justin Willis, Jeremy Putnam, Eric Hoenig, Josh Howard, 19 Calcius Williams, James Turbeville, Chris Klootwyk, Sam Collins, 20 21 Earl Goldsmith, Juan Valdez, Philip Jones, Chase Pruett, Demontre Black, Blake Strickland, Kerry Woodson, Anthony Robertson, Michael 22 23 Pavur, Brian Murphy, Quinnton Turnipseed, Rickey Cooper, Matt Ross, 24 Matt Parish, Chad Davis, Connor Walling, Waymond Roberts, Cleveland

1

Oliver, Ryan White, Brandon Wilson, Fred Moore, Daniel Goss, Julius
Roberts, Cody Lewis, Jerry Aguirre, Ryan Ruckel, Justin Fenty, Acho
Orabuchi, Evan Cohen, Aaron Stubblefield, and D'Andre Berry; and

H.R. No. 1437

4 WHEREAS, Head coach Joey Florence provided his charges with 5 exceptional leadership and guidance, and he was ably supported in 6 his efforts by assistant coaches David Thomas, Dave Henigan, Eric Lokey, Kyle Burch, Adrian Eaglin, Jared Moffatt, Ramone Archie, 7 8 Tommy Blair, Kris Slivocka, Matt Young, Scott Doring, Bret Warnack, and Vernon Reeves; superintendent, Dr. Ray Braswell; principal, Dr. 9 Ellen Fuller; athletic director, Ken Purcell; band director, Ray 10 Staniszewski; and trainers Jeff Jones and Sharon Winn; as well as 11 others who have supported the team, including Heather Severding, 12 Mandy Pardon, and Mandy Duncan and their cheerleaders, honor guard 13 14 members, and drill team members; and

15 WHEREAS, The Raider football players, with their coaches and 16 staff, are a source of continuing pride to all those associated with 17 Ryan High School, and it is indeed appropriate that the team receive 18 special legislative recognition at this time; now, therefore, be it

19 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas 20 Legislature hereby congratulate the members of the Denton Ryan High 21 School Raider football team on winning the 2002 UIL Class 4A, 22 Division II, state title, and extend to them sincere best wishes for 23 continued success; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for Denton Ryan High School as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

2