H.R. No. 1466

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Leeanna Morris of Troop 189 in Georgetown, a part of
The Red Poppy Service Unit, has earned the highest award a Cadette
Girl Scout can achieve, the Girl Scout Silver Award; and

WHEREAS, Receiving the Silver Award is a significant honor, one bestowed on only a fraction of those who enter the scouting movement; in the course of meeting the rank's demanding criteria, Ms. Morris earned a minimum of three interest project patches, received the From Dreams to Reality patch or completed five career activities, and earned the Cadette Girl Scout Leadership Award or Leadership Interest Project patch; and

11 WHEREAS, In addition, she successfully completed a Silver 12 Award project of benefit to members of the community, which 13 involved working at two sessions of Vacation Bible School and, on a 14 mission trip with First United Methodist Church, implementing craft 15 activities for mentally and physically handicapped children; and

WHEREAS, Under the guidance of troop leaders Lynn Morris and Christy Lange, this fine young woman has demonstrated outstanding initiative and an unwavering commitment to the ideals of the Girl Scout organization, and her efforts have won her the respect and admiration of her peers; and

21 WHEREAS, Her dedication to excellence and her perseverance in 22 the pursuit of her goals have proven Leeanna Morris worthy to stand 23 among scouting's elite, and it is most appropriate that she be 24 honored at this time; now, therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 1466

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas 2 Legislature hereby congratulate Leeanna Morris on earning the Girl 3 Scout Silver Award and extend to her sincere best wishes for the 4 future; and, be it further

5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 6 prepared for Ms. Morris as an expression of high regard by the Texas 7 House of Representatives.

Keel

H.R. No. 1466

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1466 was adopted by the House on May 28, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House