RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, For 140 days of each odd-numbered year, dedicated staffers of the legislative community put their personal lives and state holidays on hold to support the work of the Texas Legislature in behalf of the citizens of the Lone Star State; and

WHEREAS, During the 78th Legislative Session, the successful operation of the Texas House of Representatives has been greatly enhanced by the commendable efforts of many outstanding legislative employees, some who are new to the process and some who are seasoned veterans who give generously of their time and talents to prepare their new coworkers for the rigors of session and all it entails; and

WHEREAS, These hardworking individuals include members of the Chief Clerk's Office, the journal clerk, House Video/Audio Services, the Texas Legislative Council, and all employees who assist in duties on the house floor; the house sergeants are due special praise, not only for performing their vital duties, but also for enduring the sergeant's uniforms for the duration of the legislative session; and

WHEREAS, All those who have devoted long hours of hard work to assisting house members in the day-to-day operations of this chamber are worthy of special recognition and some well-deserved sleep, and the members of the house are proud to extend their gratitude to these essential staffers; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas

- 1 Legislature commend all employees who assist legislators in duties
- on the house floor for their dedication to the Texas house and their
- 3 service to the State of Texas.

Brown of Kaufman

Craddick Geren Mercer Allen Giddings Merritt Alonzo Goodman Miller Bailey Goolsby Moreno of Harris Griggs Baxter Moreno of El Paso Berman Grusendorf Morrison Guillen Bohac Mowery Naishtat Bonnen Gutierrez Haggerty Branch Nixon Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Hamilton Noriega Hamric Oliveira Hardcastle Olivo Burnam Harper-Brown Callegari Paxton Campbell Hartnett Pena Heflin Canales Phillips Hegar Pickett Capelo Casteel Hilderbran Pitts Castro Hill Puente Quintanilla Hochberg Chavez Chisum Hodge Raymond Christian Homer Reyna Coleman Riddle Норе Cook of Navarro Hopson Ritter Cook of Colorado Howard Rodriguez Corte Hughes Rose Crabb Hunter Seaman Crownover Smith of Tarrant Hupp Davis of Harris Smith of Harris Isett Jones of Lubbock Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Davis of Dallas Smithee Dawson Solis Delisi Solomons Keel Stick Denny Deshotel Keffer of Dallas Swinford Driver Keffer of Eastland Talton Dukes King Taylor Kolkhorst Dunnam Telford Dutton Krusee Thompson Edwards Kuempel Truitt Laney Eiland Turner Eissler Laubenberg Uresti Elkins Lewis Van Arsdale Ellis Luna Villarreal West Escobar Mabry Wilson Farabee Madden Farrar Marchant Wise Martinez Fischer Wohlgemuth Flores McCall Wolens Flynn McClendon Gallego Wong Woolley Garza McReynolds Gattis

Zedler

Menendez

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1477 was adopted by the House on May 30, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House