H.R. No. 1507

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Members of the Jewish Federation of Greater Houston are holding the organization's 67th Annual Meeting on May 28, 2003; and

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

22

23

24

WHEREAS, Founded in 1936 as the Jewish Community Council, the Jewish Federation of Greater Houston was created to provide for Jewish social welfare and philanthropic works, and since that time the federation has generated and distributed more than \$100 million to meet wide-ranging needs by working with numerous community partners, both locally and globally; and

WHEREAS, At this year's meeting, in addition to installing new officers and board members, the federation will present several awards, including the Barbara Falik Young Leadership Award to Janis Goldstein, the Ben Susholtz Young Leadership Award to Ron Brounes, the Harold Reingold Yavneh Award to Marna Meyer, the Leo Horvitz Yavneh Award to Carol and Dick Emery, the Mae and Edmund Hecht Rabbinic Presentation to Rabbi Steven Morgen, and the Hans Mayer Jewish Communal Professional Award to Myra Lipper; and

WHEREAS, The Jewish Federation of Greater Houston has a long history of service to the community, and it is a pleasure to join this enduring organization in honoring some of the state's noteworthy citizens; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas

Legislature hereby commend all those associated with the Jewish

Federation of Greater Houston and congratulate those Texans who are

H.R. No. 1507

- 1 being recognized at the group's 67th Annual Meeting; and, be it
- 2 further
- 3 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 4 prepared for the Jewish Federation of Greater Houston as an
- 5 expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Wong

H.R. No. 1507

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1507 was adopted by the House on May 30, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House